Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe with two different types of squash. Used olive oil and salt with buttercup squash seeds. Baked for 15 minutes and it was not long enough. Kept checking every 5 or 10 minutes until it had been 40 minute. Seeds were still not crunchy like I had expected, but I was afraid at that point that I was going to scorch them. Interestingly, the taste varied with baking time, from Cheez-It like flavor to bacon flavor to finally a sort of popcorn flavor. Seeds ended up very chewy. I tried again with butternut squash seeds. I baked them without salt or oil, and 15 minutes was plenty of time. In fact, I might have left them a little too long, as they has a bit of a taste like parched peanuts. So maybe the differences in the seeds is enough to make it work for butternut squash but not for buttercup squash (which has a thicker outer shell on the seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have roasted a lot of different squash seeds, they are all good. I don't use oil, only seeds and salt in a baking sheet at the lowest temperature( 170 ) in oven for several hours(overnight), stirring once or twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I don't wash off the strings and stuff. When you spread them thin, they roast up nice and crispy and taste great. I just remove the big chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA
Photo by Hannah Torres
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good and easy!!! I added some garlic powder and yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Callie
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Easy-peasy-lemon-sqeasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I've never had squash seeds before. These were pretty good! Needs a little bit of flavour though. Next time I make these I think I will add some brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Worked well! I followed the recipe and I thought they were quite similar to pumpkin seeds (tasty). I will be doing this from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2bake
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
At 275 degrees for 15 minutes the seeds were still dense and were not crispy. I did use the same amount of olive oil and some seasoning salt and the mixture was tasty. I ended up using my oven at 350 degrees for closer to 25 minutes and they crisped up just fine. I will have to do another batch to get the exact timing. I wanted to note that squash seeds are very healthy for women and help contribute to a hormone we have called DHEA. DHEA is a hormone that helps us with our energy levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Excellent! Tastes like popcorn to me! Thanks for the recipe....I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used butternut squash seeds and used seasoning salt (actually A & W seasoning salt) and it was fantastic. Mine needed a little bit more time than suggested but the result was excellent. Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States