Roasted Vidalia Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Felix4067
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This has potential, but it needs a whole lot of work. I had to roast them for about 45 minutes, and they were still a bit crunchier than we would've liked. The bouillon cube barely gave off any flavour, and was still sitting there whole when I opened the onion. Really the only flavour other than on the innermost layer was butter, salt and pepper. Next time I'll either grind the cubes to powder or use powdered bouillon, and instead of coring the onions I'll just halve them and sprinkle with seasonings (adding some garlic) before adding the butter and putting them back together. This is a good starting point, but it tastes nothing like French onion soup, and doesn't really work as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felix4067

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Divine! Skipped the salt since the bouillon is salty and didn't wrap in foil...just placed all my onions in a 9x13 baking dish. About 30 minutes in I sliced the onions into fourths and mixed well before popping back in the oven for another 10 minutes. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
For me, you can't cook onions too much, so I like mine after about 40 minutes at 425. I don't use any salt cause the boullion cube provides just the right amount and pour on the Worchestershire instead of paprika. In the summer months, this is practically a daily side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I think the boullion cube was too much and they needed to be cooked for another 10 minutes or so. They were decent & I was hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Deeeeelicious!! They needed more than 15 minutes though, more like 30. Serve in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Love, Love, Love Vidalia onions cooked this way! Especially on the grill :o) It does take much longer than 15 minutes though, more like 30 or 40 minutes. I have never tried it with paprika, but that does sound good. I usually top the butter with minced garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Was really good. Great change from the old stand by of Italian dressing. As another reviewer suggested, I wrapped a strip of bacon around it.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Tried these on a whim and they are AMAZING!!! We'll be doing these often int he future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I won't say it tastes like french onion soup , but it sure is good and something you don't have everyday used the sweet vidalia's and it turned out so good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My husband who rarely likes onions when they're cooked, loved these. I only put in 3/4 T of butter, but I added a few shakes of tabasco sauce as another reviewer suggested. We loved it. Medium sized onions cooked 40 minutes perfectly (not the 15 minutes although I didn't even check at 15 due to so many others suggesting a longer cook time). Thanks so much. Next time we'll cut the beef bouillon to 75% each and maybe up the other stuff to compensate a bit. Perfect as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Spalding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States