Roasted Veggies with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Okay...the first time around, I made this as a side dish for some pork chops. My fiance said it was bland. There were leftovers, since he wasn't fond of it (I thought it was okay). Anyways, the next day, I sauteed some tofu and threw the leftover couscous in, making a vegetarian skillet dinner of sorts. It was awesome!! I highly recommend adding the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I added two chicken boullion cubes to the water which gave the couscous some flavor and used roasted tomatoes and red onions as that was all I had around. I sprinkled it with balsamic vinegar dressing which gave it some great flavor. It turned out pretty good...I will definately make this recipe again, my three year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The simple fact is that couscous IS bland. I'd rather have plain pasta. However, if you play with it, anyone can make couscous tasty. I like to chop up a bit of shallot, and saute it a little in the olive oil- maybe a touch of minced garlic clove as well, and then toss in the couscous and coat that too. Then the water (plus definitely a chicken boullioun cube). A touch of salt- up to you. Couscous is an eastern staple, so add some easterny flavours when simmering. Add a pinch of cinnamon, or turmeric, or whatever. Like peas? Mix some in while simmering. I also like to add a bit of chopped green onion. Tease it any way you want, but do something with it- just hints of this or that, or it will be bland. And oh yeah- I did enjoy the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Good, easy, but needs a kick. I marinated the veggies in olive oil and balsamic vinegar for a short while before grilling. Then, the left over oil mixture from the marinade I added to the cooked couscous, which stepped it up a bit, along with some pepper. The dish looks nice with the veggies laid out on top, but still there was something missing. Serving with mango chutney was the answer, and then the meal felt complete and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
Very yummy and filling! I would drizzle the oil and vinegar on the veggies after you put them on the couscous to serve, b/c ours was a little bland. I might add some salt and pepper, too. But great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is one of our favorite side dishes! I've use all different kinds of vegetables and it always turns out great! Great way to use up veggies in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This was pretty good. I actually cut the veggies up really small and mixed them in with the couscous. Thought maybe I could get my son to eat it, but no such luck. Made a very nice side dish for my husband and I though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight and it was simple and delicious. I roasted the vegetables, even though the recipe says to grill them. I added salt, pepper and ground Italian seasoning plus olive oil. The vegetables I used were: red bell pepper, zucchini, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, yellow onion and sliced Crimini mushrooms. It was a very light and simple dish, but made for a great tasting meal. Thanks for the idea, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe very closely but drizzled some extra balsamic vinegar on the couscous and stirred everything together. Grilling the vegetables over charcoal gave it a nice smoky flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This was a little bland. While I will make it again, I'll make some changes, like using broth instead of water and adding some roasted onions with the other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States