Roasted Veggies with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was pretty good. I sauteed the vegetables on the stove with an onion and a head of garlic, subbing a tomato for the bell pepper. We thought it needed a bit more flavor, next time I would add black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
A great main course or side dish. I cut up the veggies (zucchini, mushroom, green pepper, red onion, and sliced red potato) then poured some olive oil and balsamic over it and mixed it up. Added salt and pepper and then cooked it on my grill pan. Delicious (even without the couscous)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I added a little extra Balsamic vinegar, about 1/2 of a lemon's worth of fresh juice and pepper along with the olive oil. I also let the veggies marinade in the mixture a little before cooking and added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to the water the cous cous cooked in. It turned out very flavorful and not bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was just ok...I added more balsamic vinegar to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe very closely but drizzled some extra balsamic vinegar on the couscous and stirred everything together. Grilling the vegetables over charcoal gave it a nice smoky flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is very simple, very delicious. Meets all my requirements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is very good! I don't have any fresh veggies, so I used a can of canned roasted tomatoes with peppers and some fresh garlic and onion. Sauteed the garlic and onion, afterwords I added the canned tomatoes. My hubby is now grating fresh Parmesan on it. It's good. Thanks for a very good recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight and it was simple and delicious. I roasted the vegetables, even though the recipe says to grill them. I added salt, pepper and ground Italian seasoning plus olive oil. The vegetables I used were: red bell pepper, zucchini, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, yellow onion and sliced Crimini mushrooms. It was a very light and simple dish, but made for a great tasting meal. Thanks for the idea, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
One thing that should be remembered is that many people (waving my hand here) don't like overly spicy food. I happen to love clean, simple flavors that aren't doused with a lot of spices. I hope that anyone reading this site would be able to eyeball a recipe and/or taste a dish in preparation to know whether or not it needs more of a kick to suit their taste before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The simple fact is that couscous IS bland. I'd rather have plain pasta. However, if you play with it, anyone can make couscous tasty. I like to chop up a bit of shallot, and saute it a little in the olive oil- maybe a touch of minced garlic clove as well, and then toss in the couscous and coat that too. Then the water (plus definitely a chicken boullioun cube). A touch of salt- up to you. Couscous is an eastern staple, so add some easterny flavours when simmering. Add a pinch of cinnamon, or turmeric, or whatever. Like peas? Mix some in while simmering. I also like to add a bit of chopped green onion. Tease it any way you want, but do something with it- just hints of this or that, or it will be bland. And oh yeah- I did enjoy the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States