Roasted-Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a fabulous stock. So much so, the next time I will double it, and freeze the extra into ice cubes in the freezer for whenever I need extra broth. A couple of things I did was - I cut the carrot pieces into about 2" chunks. After I cooked everything and the broth was finished, the carrots were still firm enough to cup into slices (I used large carrots.) I ended up using this as a base for a vegetarian matzo ball soup where I added fresh made matzo balls (see package directions - very easy) and homemade noodles (on this site) plus the sliced carrots and a little parsley. My friends gave it an 11 grade out of 10. This will be a staple for me. I also pureed the leftover vegetables and added some broth and milk with cheddar cheese. Next time I will cook up some broccoli, mash it up a bit and add it to this mix. It makes a great base for a broccoli cheese soup. Plus, if you've never cooked the garlic like this before, it's wonderful. I did make some homemade bread and threw in an extra head in the cooking process. If you squeeze the garlic and add a little butter, and spread it on bread with some fresh grated parmesan, it's YUMMY. This is such a great recipe because you can do so much when roasting the vegetables. Oh, and I did add a 1/2 bunch of parsley to the broth when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
One of the most tasty soups I've ever had. The dried thyme and the taste of the roasted veggies dominate among the others. Also very easy to cook even for an amateur in cooking.. like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I love this!!!! I'd never even thought of making my own veggie broth and it's in so many recipes. It's also a great substitute for chicken broth. This is a great way to get rid of vegetables in your fridge that are no longer fresh. I also love the comment about putting the veggies in the blender and making a cream soup with them, I also hate wasting anything. I blended mine with a little of the broth and added sour cream and cheddar. Absolutely delicious!!! To think, I almost threw them away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
the best stock ever! I just used what was in the bottom of the fridge...I have used it for soups, injected a turkey with it...great color too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Beautiful stock, the soup idea was fantastic. Be sure to add enough salt to bring out the flavor, not enough and it ended up being bland. Much cheaper than store bought stock, and much more flavorful. It was hard to not just eat the carrots straight out of the pot! I used dried bay leaves and parsley, I upped the parsley to 2 teaspoons, and used a whole branch of fresh thyme. I used two tomatoes, instead of one, as well. Will definitely keep this delicious stock on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Barnum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a FANTASTIC stock recipe. I've made it even easier by using disposable aluminum pans for roasting the vegetables. Then I put all the ingredients in my slow cooker and put it on high for two hours, then on low for an additional eight hours. Delicious! And SOOOOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very tasty stock! I don't like wasting food so after I strain the stock, I put all veggies on the blender with some liquid (stock) and a little bit of milk or cream. My kids love this creamy veggie soup ( a great source of fiber)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKABISOGNO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This stock recipe is great. Very simple. I made this last night and my whole apartment smelled fantastic. The only thing different I added was fresh bay leaves, thyme and parsley. I didn't know it was so easy to make veggie stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States