Roasted-Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this because I can leave out the items I am allergic to, add what's getting old in the veggie drawer, and it's still a terrific broth! It's fall, so kitchen is full of squash. I used a big butternut, carrots, onions, turnips and garlic for the roasting. It was hard to save it for the boiling pot, so TASTY. Yesterday added celery and swiss chard from the freezer, fresh parsley, and mushrooms. Seriously yummy. Would possibly add a squeeze a lemon if I were eating it as a consomme'. Tonight I will use some to make some apple-broccoli soup, then the rest goes in the freezer in quart portions for future use. (Just bought the chest freezer; how did we ever live without one!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This stock was so easy, so amazingly flavorful and I was thoroughly impressed! Will make it time and time again, for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is by far the best recipe for making veggie stock. Just don't forget the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I have returned to this recipe every year for our Daniel Fast. It makes the best flavor broth I have every had! Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
We found this recipe to be absolutely delicious. Followed the recipe as written but without adding salt (hubs is on salt free diet). It definitely needs salt. The flavor was outstanding. I used dried thyme leaves as opposed to ground thyme. I also made a double batch and got about a quart of broth. Thanks, Sarah, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Good flavour and very adaptable, but a couple issues: 1. I never add salt to the base recipe. Salt can be added when used in other recipes (soups, pilafs, etc.). Otherwise, it can be too salty when reduced. 2. The yield does not consider evaporation in the simmering process. I got about 6 cups of liquid using the minimum time and lowest simmering heat. I'd also like to try using less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent combination. I added a yellow squash & a zucchini to my roasting pan & it was wonderful. Easy enough to make our own when the local grocery doesn't carry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Really Good! Maybe a bit to much oil. I left out the green pepper (don't care for them). I also pureed the strained vegetables and froze them in 2 Tbsp portions in ice cube trays. I used this to make a variation of butternut squash soup from this site with pureed pumkin from my garden. 1 c. pumpkin puree 1 c. roasted veg. stock 2 Tbsp roasted veg. puree Heat through, add salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
It's funny how it can sometimes be quite pricey to make your own vegetable stock, at least as measured against bullion. This recipe uses pretty low-cost vegetables (especially if you omit the bell pepper) and the solids should absolutely be reserved and used for another time. As others have said, it makes your kitchen smell amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I followed this to a tee except I put this in my crock pot to simmer overnight since I didn't want to wait up for it. Turned out wonderful. Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States