Roasted Vegetable Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this last night, and yes, with a few changes. Salted the eggplant for about 15 minutes, meanwhile I chopped the zucchini, squash, half a green pepper and half a box of fresh mushrooms. Added 3 or so tablespoons of evoo with about 6 crushed fresh garlic bulbs, s&p into a gallon plastic bag. Put all the chopped veggies, including by now the rinsed, dried and chopped eggplant. Dumped the veggies onto a cookie pan and baked at 400 for about 15 minutes. In a deep dish 9x13 pan used Paul Newmans Cabernet Marinara, with the veggies and mixed Italian cheeses, fresh parm layered it three times with cheeses and topped with basil and fresh mozzarella baked about twenty minutes. Grilled sweet Italian sausage with it.......delicious. It will be better as a leftover. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Talbott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
this is good stuff. You can add couple cups of cooked cabbage, and fry a big onion with celery and diced carrot, diced green pepper, 3 or 4 minced garlic cloves. even add couple cups of cooked tortellini or rice or lentils or penne for more substance. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this last night and loved it! I did add an onion and 4 big cloves of garlic sliced thin. I used a 28oz can of chunky crushed tomatoes with basil & oregano and served it with grilled sweet Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Loved it!! After reading the reviews and the recipe.. I chopped all my veggies the night before and added roughly chopped garlic,a s+p, and tossed a it with little olive oil. I let it sit over night in the fridge and roasted my veggies and used a homemade sauce, served over a bed of couscous with a rustic bread! SO yummy! Next time I think I'll add sausage to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
i love ratattouille! I've made many variations over the years & roasting the veggies really makes it a rich dish... I also added red bell pepper, onion, celery... really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I read some of the suggestions and here's what I did: Salted the eggplant for 10 minutes before adding to dish (peeled both eggplant and zucchini), added razor thin garlic and crimini mushrooms, marjoram, fresh rosemary from the garden and crushed some whole oregano into the vegetables before tossing them in olive oil. Roasted in a 400 degree oven, poured Prego meat sauce & stirred then sprinkled panko & parmesan over, topped with some mozzarella & a little more of the parmesan mixture and popped back in the oven for about 20. It was delicious!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tasty.. I used more zucchini and fresh parm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this and added 3/4 cup pasta to it.MY family loved it served with baked chiken.It also works good with breaded pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftylady62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Almond, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I fixed this just as the recipe called and it was great!! I served it with turkey meatloaf. Went great together. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I loved this and so did my wife! However, I don't use a canned sauce when it is so simple to make one myself. Sautee a little onion and bell pepper, process approximately 4 tomatos until smooth and add them once onion and pepper is lightly cooked. Salt, pepper, fresh basil, fresh oregano, pinch of sage, pinch of sugar, simmer covered to blend flavors. Adjust seasonings to your taste but this only takes a few minutes to assemble. Then you can walk away while it simmers. The ratatouille was outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States