Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is so fantastic. I can't wait to make it again! This is what I did: I cooked my veggies longer to allow them to caramelize, and omitted the sugar (totally not necessary!). I also added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to them. I held off on roasting the minced garlic because it will burn. I only used 1 extra large bouillon cube for the pasta and didn't salt the water before hand. Bouillon is super salty as it is. I omitted the wine because we didn't have any. I'm sure it would have been a nice addition. I added chicken to my meal which I had marinated a few hours in Italian dressing. I cut it up and sauteed it until the juices ran clear. Just before it was done cooking I added the minced garlic, and a touch of starchy pasta water to cook the garlic and deglaze the pan. I added all of that to the veggies and orzo. The flavors of this were awesome, and the bouillon addition to the pasta water was a nice change! I'll try that again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This dish was easy to make and was a great healthy side dish. I roasted red bell pepper and eggplant and de-glaced the roasting pan with a little more of the wine. I also toasted the orzo in just a little butter to get a nice brown color on it. It was delicious and a big crowd pleaser. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
very good...a little time consuming cutting the veggies, but worth it...need to be careful to not over cook the veggies and the orzo rice is done when the rice is soft not when the liquid is all absorbed I also sauted the rice in butter first...added fresh parsley and crushed basil, very good, Scotty had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I used zucchini, squash, and onions for the vegetables. I followed the recipe otherwise but just cut it down in size. Just keep in mind that an entire box of orzo will feed an army. I used one cup of dry orzo and it made a lot. This is great and I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I more bit parmesan and fresh parsley, along with some more seasonings on the roasted vegetables. I enjoyed it and had requests for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I found this recipe to be bland. I'd say its a good base, and I like all the veggies used, but its nothing more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Loved it! I added dried basil & parsley to the chicken broth liquid and added fresh basil before serving. Will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was the perfect side dish to our BBQ chicken tonight. I didn't have any asparagus, so I tossed in fresh tomatoes before serving, making it colorful as well. This could really be done with a variety of vegetables. I think broccoli would work very well. Great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe was delicious. It was really simple to throw together and my boyfriend devoured his before I even saw him eat it. I didn't use the white wine and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States