Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I did make a few changes. Sauted 2 cups of whole wheat orzo in 3tbsp of butter first then, added two 14 oz cans of chicken stock and 1/2 c of white wine- cooked 15 mins or until all liquid was absorbed. Also bulked up on veggies and used white truffle oil instead of olive oil-OMG, so good. Extra pepper, salt and parm too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina138

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent! At the last minute I realized I didn't have zucchini, so I just omitted it and added in a chopped red pepper I needed to use up. I did want this to be more vegetable-heavy, so I used less orzo (maybe a scant half box) and I still got four servings out of this for a light meal or side dish. Only other change was to use homemade vegetable stock in place of the bouillon to reduce the sodium (I used about 2 cups stock, 2 cups water and the wine), and I'm sure I went a little heavy on the parmesan! :) This was light and savory and just delicious - I will make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very nice! Made as written, except used white mushrooms (that's what I had), and more of most of the veggies than called for. I only had like a little less than 3/4 of a box of orzo, so I just used that and that was more than enough. IMO, this needs quite a bit more salt and pepper than you would think...and definately more parmesan cheese. I would definately make this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I tried another users suggestion of cooking the orzo with with just enough water and wine so the pasta would absorb the liquid, but it turned gummy. The flavor was still amazing so I will definitely make again, but this time I will boil the pasta as the recipe indicates so it is cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious, with some modifications. If you really want 4 servings, don't cook a pound of orzo, maybe half that amount, and even then it will be a lot. Our protobellos were huge, so we chunked them. I roasted the veggies longer, more like 45 minutes, partly because my oven is on the slow side, and also because we like the caramelization that happens with longer cooking. Used veggie bouillon cubes so we could all eat this and added much more parmesan, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup, as it goes so well with the rest of the ingredients. Everybody loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I thought this was good - my husband thought it was okay. One box of orzo makes a LOT of pasta. It was a very easy dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Really, REALLY wonderful! I added a red pepper that I needed to use up too. Just incredible. This feeds waaaaay more than 4 tho. Maybe 6-8 as a main dish or 10-12 as a side dish. Makes a ton, which is fine by us....leftovers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
very good. I left out the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good, colorful and versatile recipe. I loved the wine. Added some fresh basil, tomatoes, fresh mozzerella and cilantro because I had it. Could use a bit more kick. Will keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Where has this recipe been all my life?! This has to be one of the most delicious recipes I have ever made. It is so simple, yet the flavors are so complex. I did two things differently (which I don't think changed the outcome), I skipped the wine, because I didn't have any and I roasted the cloves of garlic whole so they didn't burn. When they were done, I chopped them up and added them to the veggies. I didn't measure the parmesan, but just sprinkled it on. I can't wait to have the leftovers today. This will defintely be made quite frequently in my house, especially in the summer with all the fresh veggies from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States