Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Way too much orzo for 4, used 1 cup, added 1 can of black beans to make a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Loved it. I made a huge batch of vegetables (2 trays) and roasted them for about 2 hours. I used a good tablespoon of sugar to encourage carmelization. Delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I make this almost every week. It is a delicious way to serve vegetables. I drizzle balsamic vinegar over the veggies instead of using the olive oil/sugar mixture. Once the veggies are roasted, I mix them in with the cooked orzo pasta and add some fresh chopped basil for extra flavor! This goes well with a simple lemon chicken or even a cajun chicken (something with a little spice to compliment the mildness of this dish). This dish looks very "gourmet like" so this is a great recipe if you are making a dinner to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is my first time making Orzo, but did half the amount since only three of us eating. We roasted all our veggies on the charcoal grill over direct heat which really added a great smoky flavor, and I did marinate my veggies for about 30 minutes in some light bottled Italian dressing. What a great side dish this was, and we will be doing this one again and again...Thanks Michelle for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tasted, switched up the veggies a bit to use up what i hand in the fridge. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I threw something like this together a couple of weeks ago to go with grilled tilapia - did the veggies in a grill pan not the oven. Wonderful smokey flavor. Great suggestion of cooking the orzo with the boullion. As a reminder to folks, - orzo is NOT RICE, IT'S PASTA. If you try to cook it so the liquid absorbs, it will get gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
We like orzo. We like roasted veggies. Strangely, we didn't care for this. That said, the veggies I used were eggplant, zucchini, onion, garlic and mushrooms. I had to leave out the wine because I didn't have any. Everything else remained the same. It was okay, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
We loved this! I used julienned carrots, zucchini, yellow squash and mushrooms. It was DELICIOUS. Don't skip the sugar, the hint of sweetness really makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Thanks to all for the great reviews and modification feedback! I too have made some changes since I first posted this recipe. What I like most about it is that it is extremely versatile...use whatever vegetables you like or what's in season, and pick your pasta and protein. I've made it vegetarian, with chicken and with shrimp. When I cook the pasta I either use a couple of bouillon cubes or stock (whatever I have on hand). And I agree that one package of orzo is WAY too much...you should use more like 1/2 a package for 4 servings. When roasting the vegetables I've started subbing the sugar for a T of balsamic vinegar. And last but not least...MORE CHEESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was just ok for me. After trying several orzo recipes, I'm thinking that I don't care for it. I don't need the carbs anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States