Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is my first time making Orzo, but did half the amount since only three of us eating. We roasted all our veggies on the charcoal grill over direct heat which really added a great smoky flavor, and I did marinate my veggies for about 30 minutes in some light bottled Italian dressing. What a great side dish this was, and we will be doing this one again and again...Thanks Michelle for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tasted, switched up the veggies a bit to use up what i hand in the fridge. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I threw something like this together a couple of weeks ago to go with grilled tilapia - did the veggies in a grill pan not the oven. Wonderful smokey flavor. Great suggestion of cooking the orzo with the boullion. As a reminder to folks, - orzo is NOT RICE, IT'S PASTA. If you try to cook it so the liquid absorbs, it will get gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
We like orzo. We like roasted veggies. Strangely, we didn't care for this. That said, the veggies I used were eggplant, zucchini, onion, garlic and mushrooms. I had to leave out the wine because I didn't have any. Everything else remained the same. It was okay, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
We loved this! I used julienned carrots, zucchini, yellow squash and mushrooms. It was DELICIOUS. Don't skip the sugar, the hint of sweetness really makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Thanks to all for the great reviews and modification feedback! I too have made some changes since I first posted this recipe. What I like most about it is that it is extremely versatile...use whatever vegetables you like or what's in season, and pick your pasta and protein. I've made it vegetarian, with chicken and with shrimp. When I cook the pasta I either use a couple of bouillon cubes or stock (whatever I have on hand). And I agree that one package of orzo is WAY too much...you should use more like 1/2 a package for 4 servings. When roasting the vegetables I've started subbing the sugar for a T of balsamic vinegar. And last but not least...MORE CHEESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was just ok for me. After trying several orzo recipes, I'm thinking that I don't care for it. I don't need the carbs anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I did make a few changes. Sauted 2 cups of whole wheat orzo in 3tbsp of butter first then, added two 14 oz cans of chicken stock and 1/2 c of white wine- cooked 15 mins or until all liquid was absorbed. Also bulked up on veggies and used white truffle oil instead of olive oil-OMG, so good. Extra pepper, salt and parm too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina138

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent! At the last minute I realized I didn't have zucchini, so I just omitted it and added in a chopped red pepper I needed to use up. I did want this to be more vegetable-heavy, so I used less orzo (maybe a scant half box) and I still got four servings out of this for a light meal or side dish. Only other change was to use homemade vegetable stock in place of the bouillon to reduce the sodium (I used about 2 cups stock, 2 cups water and the wine), and I'm sure I went a little heavy on the parmesan! :) This was light and savory and just delicious - I will make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very nice! Made as written, except used white mushrooms (that's what I had), and more of most of the veggies than called for. I only had like a little less than 3/4 of a box of orzo, so I just used that and that was more than enough. IMO, this needs quite a bit more salt and pepper than you would think...and definately more parmesan cheese. I would definately make this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States