Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made this per directions, and it was good, but it makes a TON! Fed our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 hungry pre-teens) three meals. I added shredded chicken to it the first night to make it a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. The only change I make is to sometimes add fresh herbs; usualy basil. I love to serve this along with grilled chicken or salmon and pesto (hence the fresh basil in the orzo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I thought this was fabulous! I have never stirred wine into my pasta water! I'm a little confused on the last reviewer. First of all this is a pasta not a rice and will not soak up all the liquid, and after adding the boullion cube it calls for to the pasta waster it does turn into a broth. The flavor really came through and it was delicious! So much flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was ok, but lacked in flavor. I think cooking in a smaller amount of liquid, and using broth instead of water, letting it cook until all of the liquid is absorbed, might make for a more satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Loved it had to leave Parmesan cheese out as my husband can't stand the smell. Add some chicken and it's a great meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDGETTNORRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I toasted the orzo first as I like the color of some white, some tan orzo in the recipe. I used a tablespoon of butter before adding cooking liquid and spices so the calorie content/cholesterol content is higher. It was a big a hit at my family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved it! I made the whole box of Orzo as directed, doubled both squash, added red & orange bell pepper, & more onions. I increased the oil because of the additional veggies used. I added Tbs of butter & approx 6 oz of feta cheese after draining pasta. Further I used salt free broth instead of water, in addition to the bouillion. I added about 8 chopped basil leaves & equal amount of parsley to the oil before tossing the veggies. Everyone loved this dish! Keep in mind, never use cooking wine, it will make any dish taste nasty. Buy wine you drink for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was super easy to make, wonderfully fresh, and very tasty. We paired it with a seasoning-encrusted salmon, grilled on cedar planks, which was a perfect companion to this side dish. We used a local chardonnay for the dry wine called for in the orzo recipe, and then drank the rest with our meal. Superb! We will certainly be making this again for company....and it makes a huge amount of food as written even though it may not seem like it before all of the ingredients are added together. It could also easily be made into a main dish by adding some chopped prosciutto. So many options for such a healthy and easy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I just made this last night, and it was sooooo good! I did follow "Sahmcook's" advice and let the liquid absorb out of the pasta. I also added 1/2 cup of the cheese. There are 7 of us in my family so I used a lot of veggies. This made a big bowl, with only a bit leftover. The whole family loved it! If you're debating on making it, go for it! You wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Way too much orzo for 4, used 1 cup, added 1 can of black beans to make a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States