Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This a keeper, I love this recipe. I saute the red onions half way first as my husband is not a fan of onions with to much crunch. Also added extra garlic, and I always have Knox concentrated chicken broth that I used in cooking orzo pasta. Saved a little to mix with the veggies. I would recommend this to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Completely yummy!! And substantial enough to act as an entree. My teenager made this and it was incredible. Good levels of flavor, though not alot of texture if that's important to you. The wine and chicken broth added to the pasta water is something we will mimic in other dishes. We cooked for 25 minutes but would only do 20 next time as some of the smaller veggies were a little burned. Other than that...absolutely no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This dish was SOOO good! I forgot to buy the red onion at the store, so I included all the veggies but that one...although I think that you could really mix and match veggies according to your tastes. The only thing I really disagreed with was serving size info. I used the amount of veggies it called for, but I just used 4 servings of orzo according to the box (1 cup), not the entire box. That was perfect for the amount of veggies, and it was probably still more than 4 servings. Three of us ate the dish, and there was plenty left over. But it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Delicious!! I added just enough water not to get rid if all the flavors.. I also added just a bit of marinated artichoke with the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is really good and a nice accompaniment to any grilled meat! It is very colorful and well presented. I browned 1 cup orzo in 2 T butter for a toastier flavor, added 14oz chicken broth, bring to boil, cover and reduce to simmer 15-20 minutes. So easy to combine everything at the end. Thank you, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great recipe that can be adapted to what veggies you have on hand. I used a combination of zucchini, yellow squash, peppers and onions. I decreased the amount of orzo and used 2 cups of orzo to 4 cups of chicken broth. It definitely needed more cheese to up the flavor quotient but that's my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A wonderful, earthy, dish that accommodates the needs of the moment! Sweet red pepper supplanted asparagus tonight and added color and brightness. Parmesana or Pecorino will add a nice accent and some texture. Would like to pare down the oil a bit and try fresh basil or minced garlic at the end! Definately an open palette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was very good. I used a blended brown rice instead of the orzo. When the veggies were done (I had cut them fairly small, and they cooked faster than 20 min.), I added pre-cooked chicken and the rice and put it back in the oven to warm for a few minutes. I didn't use the wine or the cheese, but neither was missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made this per directions, and it was good, but it makes a TON! Fed our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 hungry pre-teens) three meals. I added shredded chicken to it the first night to make it a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. The only change I make is to sometimes add fresh herbs; usualy basil. I love to serve this along with grilled chicken or salmon and pesto (hence the fresh basil in the orzo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States