Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Really good. I did modify the cooking method though. I sauted 2 cups of dry orzo in a little butter then added 2 1/2 cups water and 1/2 cup white wine. I totally forgot to add the chicken bouillon. I brought it to a boil then reduced it to a simmer and cooked for about 8 - 10 minutes until the orzo was done. This way, all the liquid was absorbed and I didn't need to drain it. I was hoping to get more of the wine flavor this way. Then I stirred in more like 1/2 cup of parmesan and then added the roasted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is good. It's a little bland, so plan on being liberal with salt and pepper - and adding more cheese. The amount of water for the pasta isn't specified, but would be helpful since there are measured ingredients flavoring it. I added roasted red peppers because they seemed to belong in this. We enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I used zucchini, squash, and onions for the vegetables. I followed the recipe otherwise but just cut it down in size. Just keep in mind that an entire box of orzo will feed an army. I used one cup of dry orzo and it made a lot. This is great and I will be making this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This came out beautifully. I added fresh basil and parsley, which really enhanced the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I made this to bring to a BBQ and it turned out great! I used two zucchini and 2 squash instead of just one each to balance how much asparagus and mushrooms there were, and increased the amount of oil to compensate, but otherwise followed the recipe and got rave reviews! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was great! It was super easy to make and extremely yummy. I added a bit of Mozzerella to the pasta. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I roasted pieces of eggplant, zucchini, asparagus and white mushrooms as well as one chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I tossed everything into some whole wheat penne pasta and added a handful of fresh basil leaves, crumbled feta cheese and squeezed lemon. This recipe is definitely very versatile and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Delicious!!! I made this for a dinner party and everyone raved about it! My guests each had 2 or more helpings! The only thing that I changed was that I added about 3/4 cup of parmesan cheese instead of 2 Tablespoons and I seasoned it liberally with sea salt and pepper. Otherwise, it is wonderful just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Awesome recipe sunnybird! I did sub broccoli IPO aspargus and b/c some people complained about lack of seasoning; I added a pinch more sugar, 1 tsp onion/1 tsp garlic powder over the veggies. Personally, I like orzo pasta touch but you could also serve these veggies alone without it for your side dish. Great way to use up the garden's summer squash and zinni's! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I didn't change a thing (except extra parm cheese) and it was delicious. My boyfriend said how much he liked it a few times and I usually have to beat comments out of him:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States