Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I love roasted vegetables, and this recipe is so easy to make and versatile. I used white mushrooms instead of portabello, chicken broth only to cook the orzo in (I didn't have any white wine) and subbed feta cheese for the parmesan. I also added fresh parsley and fresh lemon juice on top to give it more flavor since other reviews said it was lacking. Overall an easy recipe for a light lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Amazing!! I think I used to much garlic but it made the house smell amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenalee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very Yummy! And so adaptable! I've made this twice now - first time as written, only subbing chicken broth for boullion and water in orzo. Last night I made it with some grape tomatoes, and no asparagus. Also used feta instead of parm. I add a pinch of red pepper flakes to spice things up. So fresh and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a good base recipe, used what veggies I had on hand (eggplant, asparagus and onions) and didn't bother with the white wine. I also just roasted the veggies with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Used a lot more Parmesean cheese than was called for and added fresh chopped basil and garlic to all. Good main dish for vegeterians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe! You can alter the recipe to vegetables you prefer. (I add more mushrooms and zucchini instead of using asparagus) Cooking the orzo with the chicken bouillon does wonders. I've never added dry white wine and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlit123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
A good change from a meat dish. Easy prep. I didd use double the parmesan and the next time I would add more yellow squash and zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I have made this twice now: once exactly as stated in the recipe and once by varying the vegetables. This is an easy, versatile summer recipe. Be warned however that the quality and flavor of the recipe will directly depend on the quality of your vegetables and your wine selection. If you don't use good quality ingredients you are going to have a bland dish. Also, the appearance of the dish is greatly assisted if you ensure your veggies are dry roasted and don't allow them to sit in their own liquid. I agree with others that the addition of peppers and and garden fresh basil definitely helps this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a good dish - however, not as flavorful as I expected with the seasonings to the pasta water. Next time I will try some of the suggestions, which include using red peppers, basil and additional salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I used rice instead and cut the amount of bouillon in half and used white grape juice instead of white wine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
The roasted vegetables are amazing. I omitted the sugar, and added a little crushed red pepper. I like a little spice to my food. Instead of pairing with orzo, I mixed the veggies with penne pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States