Roasted Vegetable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
It took longer than 2hrs to roast. I had complaints it wasn't done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was a great basic roasted chicken recipe. I changed it a bit to add more flavor. I used chicken broth instead of water and I put onions inside the chicken cavity. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter to the broth and another 1/2 tablespoon inside the chicken. Try rubbing chicken with some olive oil and minced garlic and sprinkling with rosemary for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mizzbett
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and so easy! I used a sweet potato I had lying around along with the veggies stated, and used just 1 large onion cut into large sections. I used the sticky rotisserie rub from the site as suggested in place of salt and pepper (didnt have onion powder so I just left that out), 1 cup chicken broth instead of the water, and rubbed the chicken with olive oil before applying the rub. Oh and I also tossed the veggies in veg oil and seasoning salt prior to putting them in the roasting pan. I cut up the potatoes into small pieces. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours at 325 then uncovered and cooked another 30 minutes at 375. My 4 lb bird was done to perfection and the veggies were perfectly seasoned and done through. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Divine! Also used the Rotisserie Style Sticky Chicken recipe from this site--used only potatoes and onions (what I had on hand) and sprinkled some of the rub on the veggies before they went in the oven. Also followed others suggestions of bumping the temp for an additional 30 minutes at the end of roasting. I used the juices and made a gravy for everything--kids loved it and the entire bird was just a carcass when we were done! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Turned out great...very easy. I also used chicken broth instead of water as other readers. And adjusted the amout of vegetables to our preference, then cooked uncovered at 400 degress for the last 20 minutes. Turned out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't believe I've never roasted a chicken with the vegetables this way before! So easy and tasty. I love that it's a 'one dish meal' without being a casserole. I rubbed the chicken with an all-purposed poultry seasoning blend and stuffed the cavity with a bunch of rosemary and a quartered lemon. I used less onions and more carrots, per my family's preferences and used chicken broth instead of water. I only basted once. I also turned the oven up to 400 deg. and took the foil off for the last 20 minutes. The chicken browned up nicely and the veggies weren't too mushy - just right. I served with a salad and biscuits. My husband prefers beer can chicken, but liked the veggies in this one. 2 out of my 3 kids ate it as well so I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I make this all the time using different vegetable/seasoning combinations - parsnips, sweet potatoes, etc. I add the vegetables in the last hour to keep them firm and fresher tasting. I use homemade chicken stock in place of the water and throw in a few cloves of garlic as well. I prefer to roast uncovered at the end. Makes excellent gravy if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crunchy Carrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was so easy and so delicious... I could not believe that I actually got my kids to eat the veggies! And on top of that, having put a wee bit too much water in, just to make sure all my veggies cooked well, I ended up with a fantastic broth that I saved and put in green beans and mashed potatoes the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
So easy and flavorful. We buy a fresh chicken to avoid any injected seasoning, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I followed other reviewers and used the Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotissere seasoning and rubbed the chicken instead of using salt & pepper and I stuffed the chicken with an onion also. I used chicken broth instead of the water and seasoned the vegetables with salt, pepper and basil. I also let the skin brown by raising the temp to 375 for 20 minutes or so. This was moist, flavorful, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States