Roasted Vegetable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Very good, however, only rating 4 stars 'cause I (like everyone else it seems) made some adjustments. I used chicken broth instead of water. Also, added a mixture of fresh garlic, onion powder and salt underneath the skin of the chicken. Tossed vegetables with onion powder and garlic powder (we like garlic and onion powder in my house) before placing in the pan. Also, rubbed chicken seasoning on the bird itself. It came out perfect! My favorite recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Tender with so much flavor - I now grab a chicken and add whatever organic vegetables are in season, chop them up and throw them in...it's never bad! Thanks for the great information on slow-cooking a chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Mmmmm. Just like Mom used to make. However, that's not 5-stars (sorry, Mom). You can use almost any hard vegetable combination. I used red bell peppers instead of carrots, 'cause I didn't have any. I also coated the chicken with an herb mixture to add some flavor. Vegetables need a way to get seasoned or else they turn out pretty bland. Otherwise, it's a typical roasted/baked chicken dish - good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Made this last night, and it was fantastic. Next time I will probably rub some butter and herbs UNDER the skin of the chicken, as all the stuff I put on top of the chicken came off as it baked. Also, I didn't cut up the potatos because the recipe didn't call for it, and I ended up having to nuke the potatos at the end because they weren't quite done yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Chicken was very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was a good, easy recipe to build on indeed. I made a few changes. I rubbed olive oil all over the chicken, and instead of salt and pepper to season, I used Seasoning Salt instead. Then I mixed up the veggies in a bowl and added some Seasoning salt and tossed it prior to adding it in the pan with the chicken. I replaced the water with 2 cups chicken stock. This turned up with lots of liquid at the end, but that's fine by us. Now, I didn't have a roasting pan, and I used my glass lasagna pan. This prolonged the cook time to 3 hours instead of 2. I used a meat thermometer to make sure the internal temp was 165F. Basting regularly is a must to keep it moist. Thank you for sharing. I'm adding this to my bi-weekly menu plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This has a very good flavour. The vegetables are well cooked and the chicken is very juicy. I added some oregano and thyme as well as celery and onion. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was really good. I did use chicken broth (one can) instead of water. I added some other spices to the mix and it came out nice. I didn't have room in the pan for potatoes so I just made mashed. Overall it was a hit and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This worked nice, but it needed more water than it said. I added some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was a good recipe. I followed the other suggestions and used the rotisserie chicken rub. I thought the chicken came out a little tough although it could have been the chicken I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States