Roasted Vegetable and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good soup!!! I did not add the sausage because we are vegan and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
There were a lot of steps to this soup (but roasting the veggies brought out a lot of the flavour), and although I enjoyed the vegetables, I just didn't like the Italian sausage in this soup. If I were to make it again, I would boil the sausage first, because despite blotting and draining the cooked sausage on paper towels, the soup tasted greasy. I'd also shred my kale into smaller pieces (I thought it would "wilt" down, like spinach does)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe! I used a can of diced tomatoes with the puree & roasted the garlic in foil so it wouldn't burn. I also used chicken broth & chicken hot italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I too alter recipes & don't measure. I took some advice & added some of my own. I used all the squash (what am I going to do with the othe half?). I used canned diced tomatoes & 3 fresh that I roasted. I puréed all veg's adding carrots only at the end so a little chunky. Added another can of beans & more kale. I have a vegetarian daughter so split some out & then added meat. I was able to find the ground sausage w/o the casings. Don't see need to add broth to meat only to throw it away so just browned it. This is hearty & I feel you can seriously make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ingrid
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My family loved this soup! I made these changes to the recipe - used one package of chicken sausage, dried thyme instead of fresh and minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh. I also didn't purée the tomatoes - just dumped them in after roasting. I also added a green pepper and some red pepper flakes and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Fantastic soup. I followed the recipe as given. My comments are that the prep work took much longer than 25 minutes. Between 40 and 50 minutes for prep is a much better estimate. The serving size should be for at least 10 servings. This soup is even better reheated. Tasty, healthy and colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
We didn't like this recipe. Did everything exactly as listed, but the soup just seems to miss something in flavor. Added some chicken cubes in the end in an effort to rescue the soup, but it still didn't come together. I like that it's healthy, but the taste just does not match up the effort. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have made this soup twice now. Both times I have ended up with a rather large pot of it, mainly because I double the volume of squash. This will require more veggie broth too so plan your grocery list accordingly. The first time I made it I used acorn and butternut squash. 2nd time, only butternut. They tasted the same, both good. I did peel the garlic for both batches. Like others, I left the veggies chunky. Other changes I made in my second batch were canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, ground turkey (Italian flavored) instead of sausage (tastes just as good as the sausage without the unneeded fat), and I didn't drain the cans of beans and tomatoes before adding to the pot. I did also add red pepper to kick up the heat since I used turkey. I really like this stew. Very filling and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cdom
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe! I added some red pepper flakes for extra spice, and I used spicy/sweet Italian chicken sausage because that's all I could find at Trader Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I thought this was a great recipe. I used diced canned tomatoes instead of whole fresh tomatoes and simplified the steps by first browning the sausage in the stock pot, adding the liquid and then dicing the vegetables and adding to the pot to cook instead of roasting them. I also increased the potatoes to 3. We like a lot of liquid in our soups, so I usually end up adding a lot more, as I did here. A delicious combination of ingredients that I'll make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States