Roasted Vegetable and Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I thought this was a very rich and hearty stew. Once you cut up all the meat and vegetables it was a snap to put together. I added an extra can of broth and a little extra wine in for a little more sauce. Make sure you serve with some nice bread to sop up all the delicous gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
I did some adjustment to the recipe - instead of oven roasting the beef and vegetables, I cooked them on the stove. The vegetables turned out to be less mushy after simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
This is the most delicious stew. Easy and quick to make. I have added other vegetables such as sweet potato, parsip, and turnip and it makes it even more interesting and delidious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very good! I realized after planning to make this that I don't have a good roasting pan to use, so I decided to make it in the crockpot instead. I only had 1.3 pounds of meat, but that seemed fine. I left out the olive oil, mushrooms and the bay leaf, but I added 1 tsp of thyme, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I used 4 cups of beef broth since I knew a lot of it would cook off in the slowcooker over time. I set it on high for the first 6 hours, and turned it down to low for about 30 minutes. At the 4 hour mark, I added just over 1/2 cup of the wine, and when I set it on low, I added 4 tbsp. of flour to thicken it. I'm sure this is very good roasted, but as I did it, it was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
Delicious !!! Took ages to make...but the result was well worth it, and it was actaully really easy, once it was all cooking there wasn't much to do but enjoy a glass of wine !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and my two year old loved it. I followed other members advice and doubled the sauce. Very flavourful and perfect to warm you up in the fall and winter. Will make this again over Xmas to feed the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Total cooking and prep time took much longer than recipe stated but was worth the effort. A nice change to the usual beef stew that I prepare in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was a big hit at our house. It was a nice change from our usual recipe - very rich and savoury! I added about 50% more beef broth, wine and tomato paste for more gravy. The meat was a little tough after roasting, so I put it in a pressure cooker with the liquid ingredients for about 30 minutes, then added the roasted vegetables and the rest of the ingredients and cooked another 10 minutes under pressure to finish it all off. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
love roasted veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Awesome! Roasting the meat and veggies is the ticket! Both were tender and very flavorable. I doubled the recipe and used two sweet potatoes with two white ones and it works well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States