Roasted Turkey, Navy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is wonderful. I used a whole chicken to test it on before thanksgiving turkey.... the meat has a very nice flavor and is very moist. I also used the juices from the pan to make a gravy. The flavors really showed through in this as well. My entire family and even my guests loved this one !!! YUMMY !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I especially like recipes the old-fashioned way-without chemically altered ingredients and plastic bags. As an old-fashioned organic cook, I can taste the difference right away. I used this recipe with chicken so had to adjust the amounts. It was so good that I've decided to use this recipe on the Thanksgiving turkey. GO NAVY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My job is to make the turkey for all holiday functions in this family. I always try a new recipe and they LOVED this one. I added garlic, rosemary, celery seed, and parsley to the veggies and rubbed the skin with the same mixed with olive oil. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Reidville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made it this Thanksgiving. Followed recipe exactly and it came together perfectly. Served with Quinoa dressing recipe and the calories were greatly reduced with great tasting and satisfying food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved it. Although, it was a bit much wine/liquid for the gravy. Next time I'll try about 3 cups wine instead of the whole bottle. Recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved it! I did add fresh tomato to the veggies...they were as big a hit as the turkey. The juices made an amazing gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It was my very first self-made Turkey =) and everybody loved it! I was asked if i could cook it again next year... And it's sooooooo very very easy.Just get everything ready, put it in the oven and you don't have to worry about a thing. This recipe absolutely rocks! Thank you sooooooo very much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I just loved this. I did not use a whole turkey however, but as it is the New Year, I am trying to make healthier food. This fit the bill for a turkey breast. I followed the recipe exactly except for putting the salt and pepper directly on the turkey breast. Turned out very moist and flavorful. I will save the veggies and juice for a soup. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My husband followed this recipe when we hosted Thanksgiving last year and everyone raved. This recipe is very healthy yet flavorful. We (he) will be doing this one again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was my first ever Thanksgiving Turkey and it was simple and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I forgot to wrap the turkey in foil. It got a darker brown, but that was right for my taste. I also rubbed the turkey with olive oil and the spices that were left in the mixing bowl after the carrots, celery, and onion were stuffed in and around the turkey. Also, instead of bay leaves, I substituted 3 Tbsp of Rosemary. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States