Roasted Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Good basic recipe. I added a few extra steps: I brined the legs with water & salt in fridge the night before. Rinsed the turkey legs. Added onions instead of celery into the legs. Mixed butter with sage, thyme, rosemary and bit of salt/ black pepper and put that between the meat/skin. I placed the legs in the pan, and sprinkled black pepper on top of skin. Poured 1 can of chicken broth in the pan and added baby carrots in the pan on the outside (love the taste), loosely cover with foil. And baked at 400 degrees instead of 350 (since I was using a small toaster oven - not the big oven, I was afraid that it wouldn't be hot enough) for 2 hours. About 1 hr 10 later, took out the foil and basted them occassionally. 30 min before taking it out, I sucked out a lot of the broth (using the baster) and used that for the gravy. This allowed for the skin to brown and crisp up. Served with potatoes, gravy and corn. It turned out good, meat broke off the bone cleanly and the skin was nicely brown and crispy. Next time I would probably keep the foil on there a bit longer and take it out a bit earlier probably 1 45 min instead of the full 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Yum. Great, easy recipe. I'm a huge onion fan, so I sliced up a white onion and inserted the pieces into slices throughout the drumsticks. It worked really well. I roasted them for about 45 minutes covered, basting regularly, then uncovered them and turned every 20 minutes afterwards. Total time was about an hour and 45 minutes. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe for those who love dark meat and don't want to be bothered cooking a whole turkey! I use broth instead of water. I also then half way through the cooking time surround the turkey legs with savoury stuffing. I keep a lid on the roasting pan until the last little while as well. It keeps the meat juicier, and then I just brown it toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was very easy to get together! I am not a fan of celery so I used onion instead and served this with brown rice in golden mushroom sauce. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I could never get my turkey legs juicy and tender...and as tasty. Quick easy delicious! I also seasoned them with my own spices...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very EASY, Simple recipe. You can't go wrong. I have tried this recipe twice and both times, I must say, they came out DEE-LISH-US! The first time I did not have any celery so I used slivered onions instead (very tasty). But last Sunday when I did have some celery I tried it again and OMG! The flavor those stalks put out was superb! I thought that the celery would be mushy and it was not. If was soft yet still had a firm feel when eaten. I seasoned my turkey with salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little parsley (for color). My meat was tender, juicy and fell right off the bone! We had with greens (with turkey necks), mac-n-cheese and cornbread (I uploaded a pic. I had to stop eating in order to actually take the picture. LOL). I will DEFINITELY cook my turkey legs this way from now on. I've shared with friends and they too enjoyed the recipe. Reminds me of the food my grandmother would cook everyday. Thanks for sharing Keryne!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was super easy and it turned out absolutely fantastic! I did add a brush of BBQ sauce when it was done and served hot to the table. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I love this because I can do as little or as much with it as I want depending on my moods. What I really enjoy being able to do though is throwing a bunch of veggies in around them in the covered dish while they're cooking so that I can make a soup out of the broth later. Absolutely wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My children are very particular about what they eat. I stuffed the legs with onions rather than celery and I used a turkey injector and added some of my own seasoning which is simply spices from the cabinet and water. I made three my son ate two! We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Use a variation of this recipe, time and time again. I usually have to refer to this for the baking temperature. I foil-line a cookie sheet and rinse the turkey legs off and pat dry. I melt a little butter in a bowl in the microwave and brush it all over the legs and swipe some on the foil to prevent sticking. I then salt the legs, sprinkle thyme, then pepper them lightly, flip to the other side and repeat, reapplying the butter if it looks like it needs it. We prefer thyme on our turkey as opposed to other herbs like rosemary, as it can overpower the taste sometimes and we usually like something a little basic, but with flavor. Generally, this finishes before the 2 hour mark in the oven and I always make my special mashed potatoes with it. I remove the legs from the pan and scrape the drippings off the foil and put them into a pan, add about 1/2 cup (i don't measure) of milk and heat until the drippings blend well with the milk, THEN I add about a tablespoon of flour and simmer until blended and desired thickness (usually a minute or 2). Turkey drippings make THE best gravy, no seasonings needed, it's already there. Serve with another side like green beans or whatever I have on hand. AWESOME. Simple & fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States