Roasted Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was very easy to get together! I am not a fan of celery so I used onion instead and served this with brown rice in golden mushroom sauce. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was super easy and it turned out absolutely fantastic! I did add a brush of BBQ sauce when it was done and served hot to the table. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Thanksgiving is only 5 days away & I want you to know how much I appreciate your recipe. There are 6 family members that fight over the turkey legs. I don't think I'll have that problem this year> I'll use your wonderful recipe & we'll all be happy !! Legs for all!!(I've tried it already & its great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe for those who love dark meat and don't want to be bothered cooking a whole turkey! I use broth instead of water. I also then half way through the cooking time surround the turkey legs with savoury stuffing. I keep a lid on the roasting pan until the last little while as well. It keeps the meat juicier, and then I just brown it toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My children are very particular about what they eat. I stuffed the legs with onions rather than celery and I used a turkey injector and added some of my own seasoning which is simply spices from the cabinet and water. I made three my son ate two! We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I could never get my turkey legs juicy and tender...and as tasty. Quick easy delicious! I also seasoned them with my own spices...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Yum. Great, easy recipe. I'm a huge onion fan, so I sliced up a white onion and inserted the pieces into slices throughout the drumsticks. It worked really well. I roasted them for about 45 minutes covered, basting regularly, then uncovered them and turned every 20 minutes afterwards. Total time was about an hour and 45 minutes. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The celery really made the turkey good. might try cooking in cekery suop next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I love this because I can do as little or as much with it as I want depending on my moods. What I really enjoy being able to do though is throwing a bunch of veggies in around them in the covered dish while they're cooking so that I can make a soup out of the broth later. Absolutely wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Good basic recipe. I added a few extra steps: I brined the legs with water & salt in fridge the night before. Rinsed the turkey legs. Added onions instead of celery into the legs. Mixed butter with sage, thyme, rosemary and bit of salt/ black pepper and put that between the meat/skin. I placed the legs in the pan, and sprinkled black pepper on top of skin. Poured 1 can of chicken broth in the pan and added baby carrots in the pan on the outside (love the taste), loosely cover with foil. And baked at 400 degrees instead of 350 (since I was using a small toaster oven - not the big oven, I was afraid that it wouldn't be hot enough) for 2 hours. About 1 hr 10 later, took out the foil and basted them occassionally. 30 min before taking it out, I sucked out a lot of the broth (using the baster) and used that for the gravy. This allowed for the skin to brown and crisp up. Served with potatoes, gravy and corn. It turned out good, meat broke off the bone cleanly and the skin was nicely brown and crispy. Next time I would probably keep the foil on there a bit longer and take it out a bit earlier probably 1 45 min instead of the full 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States