Roasted Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I did not care for the celery and actually substituted it for onion. I like my turkey legs just bone and meat, nothing stuffed. Also I took another persons advice and roasted it with bbq sauce, it was great! I think I will add more sauce next time. This recipe really is just a basic recipe which one can definitely play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Use a variation of this recipe, time and time again. I usually have to refer to this for the baking temperature. I foil-line a cookie sheet and rinse the turkey legs off and pat dry. I melt a little butter in a bowl in the microwave and brush it all over the legs and swipe some on the foil to prevent sticking. I then salt the legs, sprinkle thyme, then pepper them lightly, flip to the other side and repeat, reapplying the butter if it looks like it needs it. We prefer thyme on our turkey as opposed to other herbs like rosemary, as it can overpower the taste sometimes and we usually like something a little basic, but with flavor. Generally, this finishes before the 2 hour mark in the oven and I always make my special mashed potatoes with it. I remove the legs from the pan and scrape the drippings off the foil and put them into a pan, add about 1/2 cup (i don't measure) of milk and heat until the drippings blend well with the milk, THEN I add about a tablespoon of flour and simmer until blended and desired thickness (usually a minute or 2). Turkey drippings make THE best gravy, no seasonings needed, it's already there. Serve with another side like green beans or whatever I have on hand. AWESOME. Simple & fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent but insterting celery and onion isn't as good as surrounding legs with these vegs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I added pepper and poultry seasoning to it. I didn't add the water and didn't baste it at all. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I put turkey in zip lock bag w/ Kraft Italian dressing & put in fridge for an hr. Drain, Lay in roaster w/out lid. Roasted 350* for 1 hr or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I had some turkey legs and couldn't decide what to do with them so I followed the recipe to a t and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These didn't turn out as good as I had hoped. They were a little dry. Not sure what I might have done wrong. Followed the recipe. Will look for another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
While this may be a perfectly good recipe, the cooking time is way short. I started out w/thawed legs and cooked them at 350 degs for 2 hrs and they were tough, like they weren't done well enough (I did check internal temp). I like my turkey meat to fall off the bone and these were far from that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine0920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This recipe was so simple, my husband- not a cook at all, made them for me. When I make them I like to add 2 tsps of dry Italian Seasoning to the 6 tbsp butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiya411
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
08/29/11 - I just prepared and cooked this for dinner tonight and BOY I MUST say Mmmm-GOOOD! I followed all the instructions, but adjusted the servings for two and added garlic salt. I cooked with white rice, collard greens and corn bread(like another reviewer). However, to cut time I purchased collard greens in a can by Glory ( I added onions, hot sauce, salt, pepper, & apple vinger), and purchased the corn bread from Publix bakery. YES, YES, & YES! just as good. I will try to post the picture, but I started eating then realized I did not take a pic. I normally get recipes from here but rarly have time to comment, but I had to post one NOW. This is my first time cooking smoked turkey drumsticks. This was SO SIMPLE and best of all ALL the ingredients are what you would normally have ON HAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States