Roasted Turkey and Pan Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The only way to go! If your family needs browned skin, simply put a piece of foil (large enough to cover entire pot) then put the lid on. The reflective properties of the foil will brown your skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Otis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the way my grandmother made it, adding seasonings to her taste. Fast, simple and delicious homemade flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I would advise turkey novices to do a bit of reading and asking questions about gravy making. The directions here could lead to disaster if a new cook got "rid of the fat" - Does that mean dumping all the drippings? How do I tell which is fat? How do I separate it? Can you imagine what will happen if the stock and flour are stirred in the pan without any direction to cook the flour and gradually add the liquid and constantly whisking. Most of us who enjoy our holiday meals consider the gravy to be one of the stars of the show. It's a shame that due to poor and thoughtless directions from Campbells Kitchen the gravy is a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recpe is not for the "roasted turkey" it is only for the gravy. A lot of details have been left out though and done as directed you're going to end up with a disaster. You need to whisk together a cup of room temperature (or cool) liquid/broth with the flour before adding it to the drippings in the pan or else you are going to end up with lumpy lumpy lumpy, did I say LUMPY? gravy. And then continue to stir/whisk constantly while it is cooking over medium-hi heat til it starts to boil, then reduce heat to med-low and simmer til thickened. As written this is a recipe for disaster! I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
it was really bland. it needs more spices added to the gravy. I will never be making this again. If you try it, try it once before your big day.. because you would hate to be disaapoinnted by this bland recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was so ood. I wil definitely be doing it again next year. As I poured it into my gravy pourer, I wondered if it was thick enough, but it seemed to thicken up a little bit on it's own. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This turned out great. Everybody loved it. The gravy was great. I will make this every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Best Turkey Gravy recipe I ever made. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
A little salty. I might use sodium free stock next time. Overall a very good and easy gravy! I will repeat what others have said....add flour gradually!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyKaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is a basic tried and true turkey and pan gravy recipe. Anyone who cooks often knows that everything needs to be seasoned according to you or your families tastes. Salt and pepper are the most UNDER USED seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States