Roasted Tomato Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
AWESOME! I had some frozen tomatoes left over from last summer and they worked beautifully. Roasting the tomatoes is a must, it brings out the wonderful flavor of them. I don't buy saffron because of the cost but substituted a pinch of tumeric. Be warned about tumeric, just a pinch or your soup will be over-powered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Roasted home-grown plum tomatoes and added some milk at the end of the recipe to thin it out and increase the amount of soup. We really liked it and hubby said I could "make that again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Excellent! I served this at my book club and everyone loved it! The only complaint is that a double batch wasn't near enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This soup is amazing. The saffron really makes it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except substituted the saffron for just a pinch of tumeric. It was awful. I couldn't even eat it. It sounded delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
delcious and easy.. I adore saffron and was happy to find a recipe for soup with this I reduced the oil and left out the butter - i need to cut calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I doubled the carrots and celery, lightly pureed the soup and it was SAVORY, chunky and fresh. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Loved it! I didn't have any saffron and added a pinch of turmeric like the previous reviewer. I also doubled it and even so, it didn't yield a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is a simple and absolutely delicious tomato soup. I doubled the recipe (glad I did, because the wife and I put away well over the original recipe's worth), left out the celery (only because I forgot it), added a bit more curry powder, and a touch of cayenne for just a little heat. I also added about a half a cup of milk to thin it a little and well...because I thought it would be tasty ;) We garnished with more cilantro and a dollop of sour cream. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Very good! I did not blend it, added way more curry than called for, and basically tripled it. It was good, but not a lot. I also added garbanzo beans, which did nicely (I roasted them with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States