Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I am scrapping the sides of the blender to get all this roasted salsa goodness out. LOL...Yes, I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe. And my first time roasting tomatillos. I skipped the water (didn't need it) and added just a bit of lime juice. I think next time I make this I'll skip the cilantro (changes the flavor) and either add less jalapenos or take out the seeds prior to roasting. Otherwise yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I deseeded the jalapeno's before roasting them to kill the heat some since I knew Grumpy wouldn't be able to handle it! I had never used tomatillos before but had received them in my weekly field-goods package. I found this recipe and loved the idea of roasting. I had super huge garlic cloves and no cilantro to be found in the grocery-so I used the fresh cilantro "paste" in a tube (about a tablespoon). Turned out really well. Ate this on steak fajitas on homemade tortillas. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this salsa and it's just ok. I didnt add any water since I like a very thick salsa. I really liked how the roasted garlic flavor came through. I did add some lemon/lime juice to try and brighten up the salsa and some cilantro, but this just didnt taste bright and vibrant which is what I was looking for. I will continue my search for the best tomatillo salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This recipe is a great start but I made a couple of additions for a little more flavor- lime juice and smoked paprika. This is a great way to use up the millions of tomatillos we get from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I received two tomatillos in my CSA box this week (just two!) so I set out to find a recipe. I found this one and decided to use most of the other salsa items they gave me; two tomatoes, one jalapeno pepper and one green bell pepper. I also had some garlic. So I pared it down and threw one tomato into the blender with the mix, then diced the other and threw it in at the end. I took another reviewer's advice and added cumin. This is a great salsa and I'm so happy I got to use so much of my CSA produce this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I grilled the tomatillos on the grill along with the jalapeno's. The more cilantro the better! I added a little sugar, cumin and lime juice to kick it up a bit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The roasted flavor was great but this still needed something more when I tasted it. I added in a few squirts of fresh lime juice and a good spoonful of red hot sauce...that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
great taste, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is SO easy and delicious. Served it at a party and I got many compliments. Followed directions. Didn't need to add water. I'll never buy salsa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States