Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Hoo! This is HOT! (But my jalapenos were huge.) Very nice tangy, smoky flavor, and so easy to prepare. Next time I'll add just a bit of onion, and I wouldn't mind a touch more garlic. This is perfect with avocado and goat cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this with one jalapeno, and I broiled some diced yellow onion along with the other ingredients. I also used Adobo seasoning instead of salt. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Delicious flavor (I passed the recipe along to several friends), but INCREDIBLY spicy. Blending the jalapenos releases more of the capsaicin (the hot stuff), so if you are not going to leave the peppers chunky, you might want to cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I loved this and so did my family. I used 3 jalapenos as the ones I had weren't particularly hot. I didn't have any cilantro in the house so I didn't use any and it was still great. Fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Superb! Excellent flavor! I've made this a few times now and it's become a favorite. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This salsa was excellent after I followed suggestions by another reviewer to cook off the raw taste from the salsa. I cooked the salsa for 5 mins on med to med low heat.I also added lime juice and some ground cumin to add a little more smoke to the flavor. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTGIRL2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This is awesome! I added 2 tbl of white vinegar and for a bit of tartness. My family ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I took another reviewers advice and added some finely diced onion at the end. I used 1 1/2 lbs of tomatillos (grew them in the yard--very easy) two jalepenos and added a little ground chipotle (1/4 tsp). It turned out wonderful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
The (almost)classic recipe. Some folks have mentioned something missing. Dice white onion and add after prep. No need to refrigerate unless you want to tamp down the heat -- fresh salsa always packs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
this was my first tomatillo recipe and I love the smoky roasted flavor... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States