Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I broiled the tomatillo's for about 20 min, then threw everything in the blender. Turned out great, loved it with my fish taco's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I didn't seed the peppers so it was a bit hot for me, but all of my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made it exactly as stated and thought the cilantro was overpowering. I like the idea of roasting so I will try it with another salsa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Made as the recipe states, and it was amazing over chicken breast. Tastes like summer, with just the right amount of heat. I did not de-seed the jalapenos or tomatillos, just tossed them in the blender after a rough shop, and did not need to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This recipe was fantastic, and it carried with it a nice KICK! I roasted the tomatillos, garlic, jalapeno and also added an onion for about 20 minutes and then I broiled them. Then mixed in the blender and added some slat and lime juice. This will be good with chips and also enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This is easy and so tasty. Leave the seeds in the jalapenos for more "kick." Serve over grilled pork tenderloin or just with lots of chips and sliced vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This salsa goes great in chilaquiles. After reading the reviews I roasted the ingredients in a 450 degree oven and then broiled. I too added onion. I also added fresh lime juice. It was very spicy, but that's how we like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Excellent! Roasting all the ingredients really makes the difference. I used three different types of mild peppers in addition to what was called for in the recipe, and added some cumin and cinnamon. Really worth the time and it keeps really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
my first time making salsa and im sorry for the other ones since i started with this one. i dont know if i need another recipe, ever. its sooooooo good im not sure anyone else got to get any!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardjrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I normally love the flavor that roasting and charring gives, and love tomatillo salsa, so I was really excited to try this one. The first time I made it in the oven both roasting and then broiling. The flavor was good but 2 dimensional. I added some onion and what I thought was cumin but turned out to be coriander. OOPS! The second time I made it I used the cumin, and it was much better, but still not great. This salsa is really lacking something. It's almost like the carmelization from roasting ruined it rather than improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States