Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Fresh and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was very good, and it seems to be a forgiving recipe. I forgot to pick up cilantro and garlic making it, so my charred veggies had to wait a day before being blended together and they still turned out great. I ended up just subbing minced garlic for the roasted cloves, I'm sure it would be even better if I had roasted the garlic like the recipe called for. I also added about half a small onion like some reviewers suggested. And I only had 2 jalapenos so I subbed a hot cherry pepper for the third. My only complaint is that it really just tasted like spicy cilantro to me. The tomatillo taste didn't really come through like I had expected. Next time I will use more tomatillos or a smaller bunch of cilantro. Thanks for the recipe! ETA: I need to change this from 4 to 5 stars. After it sat in the fridge for a few hours, the strong cilantro taste had faded and the other flavors came through. After a couple days of the flavors mingling, it was amazing! It makes for a life-changing good taco topping as well. My husband said if we had this all the time, he would never need hot sauce, the flavor of the salsa is just so much better. Next summer I am going to seek out bulk tomatillos so I can make a lot of this and can it. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very Tasty!! I bought tomatillos at the Farmer's Market anad the farmer told me to roast them. I found this recipe and followed it to the letter only adding some lemon juice at the end. It's perfect! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
OMG. This was my first year to grow tomatillos and I will be sure to grow them again next year just so I can make this. I used only 2 jalapenos and added lime juice at the end. I then simmered it with some precooked shredded chicken, rolled it all in some tortillas topped with more salsa and some shredded cheese. This recipe is a HOME RUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
very easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaustin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was my first salsa recipe,my first use of tomatillos and first time roasting vegs under the broiler! I made the recipe as listed with the exception of replacing some of the water with fresh lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious and easy! The BF kept saying "this green stuff is awesome" A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very good! I used just one jalapeno, but next time I may use two to give it extra spice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Szymanski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness!! What a great recipe. Only thing I did differently was add some chopped white onion and I didn't need to add any water. I made a jar for my neighbor and she is from Porta Rico and she said, and posted it on her facebook page for all her friends to try, it is the BEST she has ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was very good. I was surprised by how much the peppers mellowed when roasted. I have made this recipe twice, the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I added a pasilla pepper, fresh onions and a squeeze of lime juice-fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States