Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is the AR Buzz Recipe Group selection for November 22, 2014. I decided that I wanted to make a trial run on this recipe before Thanksgiving. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dried. I baked for about 35 minutes and sprinkled with freshly ground sea salt and pepper. Will definitely be making again for Thanksgiving and other meals as well. Thank you, Don for sharing your healthy, easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried and true! This is definitely a keeper. Didn't have any parsnips but used carrots, sweet potatoes and whole fennel. Delicious! No maple syrup in house so I used wildflower honey with a very aromatic scent and flavour. It mixed very well with the thyme. UPDATE: Finally got to try this exactly as written. Just delicious. The maple syrup in this comes out with almost a smokey flavour. The fresh thyme also adds a herbal flavour that mixes well with the maple syrup and the sweetness of the sweet potatoes. Thanks a million. Don.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy, tasty, and good for you! What more could I ask of a recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My husband looked at me and said "what did you do to the vegetables because they are awesome". Nuff said, these were delicious and simple. Yummy, wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Recipe Group: Made this for our Turkey Day feast, and so glad I did! This is delicious! I used my convection oven, which lessened the cooking time a bit even at 350. When I added the thyme and maple syrup I drizzled just a wee bit more olive oil, I really didn't want the veggies sticking to the pan. I peeled my sweet potato but just scrubbed the carrots and parsnips (used two small of each, so about equal to the sweet potato). This is a great and simple flavor combo that would be enjoyed by anyone. Thanks Don for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Oh YUM!!! This was fabulous! Saw it earlier this evening, while buzzing, had everything I needed, thought it sounded yummy and it was! Can't wait to have own herb garden again! Just used the Thyme I had purchased for tomorrow, but this just sounded (and was) burp....SO worth it. Absolutely NO changes I could possibly want to make! Thank you SO much Don, for taking the time to share! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum! I love roasted vegetables, and I usually don't add anything besides EVOO, salt and pepper. But these were delicious, and I followed the recipe exactly. One bite led to another, and then another! I've never had parsnips either, and the only reason I bought them was for this recipe. I'm happy to say that I will buy them again, thanks to Don! These vegetables were a welcome change from the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes that usually grace the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
awesome simple recipe. we had never eaten parsnips ( I thought they were albino carrots.) also, I'm not a big fan of maple syrup. we happened to have some the wife had bought up north. I doubled the recipe to have left-overs, dang it...I should have tripled it. no left-overs. seriously thinking of planting parsnips here. thanks for a great dinner with a favorite new (to us) vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish was not only easy to make but tasted fabulous! In that I was not using fresh thyme I simply sprinkled with dry using my judgment. I love the hint of sweetness the maple syrup gives which is just enough. Ideal subtle combination of savory and sweet while still being able to taste the wholesome goodness of the vegetables. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*). Another winning recipe by Don!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Yummy recipe. Since I am the only one who like sweet potato I used only 1 sweet potato then sub with thin skinned white. Used my small roasting pan and cooked on the BBQ set on low. Worked great. Thanks Don.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States