Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried and true! This is definitely a keeper. Didn't have any parsnips but used carrots, sweet potatoes and whole fennel. Delicious! No maple syrup in house so I used wildflower honey with a very aromatic scent and flavour. It mixed very well with the thyme. UPDATE: Finally got to try this exactly as written. Just delicious. The maple syrup in this comes out with almost a smokey flavour. The fresh thyme also adds a herbal flavour that mixes well with the maple syrup and the sweetness of the sweet potatoes. Thanks a million. Don.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy, tasty, and good for you! What more could I ask of a recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is the AR Buzz Recipe Group selection for November 22, 2014. I decided that I wanted to make a trial run on this recipe before Thanksgiving. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dried. I baked for about 35 minutes and sprinkled with freshly ground sea salt and pepper. Will definitely be making again for Thanksgiving and other meals as well. Thank you, Don for sharing your healthy, easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this recipe recently and had everything but the parsnips. Not even sure I have seen them in a grocery store here before. So, I doubled the carrots. I accidentally added the maple syrup at the beginning. As a result, I couldn't get mine crispy at all which I think they were somewhat supposed to be. All was not lost, I turned this into a fabulous soup in the vitamix with some sautéed onions and garlic, some broth, seasonings, the roasted sweetened vegetables and a piece of apple. Made for a tasty lunch. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this for a thanksgiving side. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Recipe Group: Made this for our Turkey Day feast, and so glad I did! This is delicious! I used my convection oven, which lessened the cooking time a bit even at 350. When I added the thyme and maple syrup I drizzled just a wee bit more olive oil, I really didn't want the veggies sticking to the pan. I peeled my sweet potato but just scrubbed the carrots and parsnips (used two small of each, so about equal to the sweet potato). This is a great and simple flavor combo that would be enjoyed by anyone. Thanks Don for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum! I love roasted vegetables, and I usually don't add anything besides EVOO, salt and pepper. But these were delicious, and I followed the recipe exactly. One bite led to another, and then another! I've never had parsnips either, and the only reason I bought them was for this recipe. I'm happy to say that I will buy them again, thanks to Don! These vegetables were a welcome change from the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes that usually grace the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was really good. I didn't have fresh thyme on hand, so I sprinkled dried thyme on it and it was still great! Also, I increased the carrot and parsnip to sweet potato ratio, as I had more of them on hand, any ratio would work - whatever your personal preferences are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Yummy recipe. Since I am the only one who like sweet potato I used only 1 sweet potato then sub with thin skinned white. Used my small roasting pan and cooked on the BBQ set on low. Worked great. Thanks Don.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm not sure I've ever had fresh thyme paired with sweet potatoes before. It's a very good combo! We really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States