Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I served this dish with marinated grilled lamb chops and caesar salad for our Valentine's Day dinner. We loved it, even though I had no Amaretto and substituted Cointreau for it. What a wonderful new way to prepare sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I changed a few things to make this a 5-star. First, I cooked the potatoes UNCOVERED. I also ended up cooking them a lot longer than suggested (b/c my other stuff wasn't ready)....it was fine b/c it allowed more time for the potatoes to brown. I cooked them on a large (9X11) stone baking dish....so everything was like in a single layer. Be generous with the salt and pepper. And lastly, I think my pieces of sweet potato and onion were smaller than 1 inch....I'd say more like 1/2 inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This was just awesome. I was a little skeptical about the combination of amaretto with the thyme and almonds, but it was so good. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did let it cook a little longer without the cover for a little more roasted flavor. Even my 11 year old ate the onions! Will definitely make again, and would be great for holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I made this recipe last night and everybody loved it. My company took a copy of the recipe home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
My husband saw this recipe in USA Weekend, and he made it exactly as printed. It was wonderful--the Amaretto gave it a mildly-sweet flavor. We served it with microwaved fish & a salad for a great, light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I have made this recipe twice. I am normally a fair to poor cook so I was ecstatic when it was a hit with my husband, who is an excellent cook. I did increase the liquids because I am cooking at a high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I didn't have any amaretto so I skipped it and the recipe was still fabulous. This recipe will become a regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Fabulous dish and so simple. We love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I prepared this dish for a dinner party and everyone raved. I took other reviewer's suggestions and toasted the almonds. I didn't have any liquor and it still turned out great. Served with Rack of Lamb & whole head of steamed brocoli (sliced in 1/2), made a very elegant meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This was WONDERFUL - I expected to have leftovers but everyone enjoyed it so much there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States