Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
YUM! I roast sweet potatoes and onions a lot but I have never added amaretto to any of my roasted vegetables. To my surprise, it was delicious. I put all the ingredients in a Ziplock bag and let them marinade for a few hours and then baked them on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil sprayed with Pam. Everything turned out great and the clean up was a breeze. I also topped it with fresh rosemary but I forgot the almonds which I love so I will do this again with the almonds as they are so good for you also. You cannot taste the amaretto but it just sweetens the vegetables and caramalizes them. I served this with a nice sirloin steak and it was a great meal. I can't wait to get some more sweet potatoes to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were delicious! The amaretto really brings out the sweetness of the potato and onions. I wouldn't make any changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is now one of my favorite side dishes an a refreshing alternative way to make sweet potatoes. I tried this the first time using a few tablespoons of orange juice and a little brown sugar as I didn't have Amaretto on hand. I used Amaretto the 2nd time, it's good either way but I preferred the O.J./brown sugar way best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LLTURNER
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Fantastic! I made a 'mistake' and put the almonds in as it was making, but instead of burning they turned out just fine. I probably put a lot more olive oil in than was called for which might have helped. I did not have the liqueur, so I went with the orange juice suggested by another reviewer. Excellent recipe and is now on the favorites list in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I cook alot but had yet to actually taste sweet potatoes. They were just one of those things i never tried but always wanted to. I didn't use the amaretto or almonds in my recipe. I personally thought they turned out pretty good! Husband said the potatoes took on too much of the onion flavor and he was used to a more sweeter sweet potato. Kids weren't a big fan, but kids are kids right? Thats not to say they werent good. Overall good recipe, but im left wondering what the amaretto would of done to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I made it as written, except I only used one onion, and I skipped the amaretto liqueur. I felt that it was unnecessary, because the almond flavor comes through very well from just the sliced almonds themselves. I was very impressed with the flavor...the sweet potato lovers in my family loved this! It is extremely healthy, tasty, and easy to make...so I'll be making it again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Excellent! I used brown sugar instead of amaretto as suggested in previous review. I also browned the potatoes on top of the stove instead of waiting for them to crisp in the oven. I'm hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My husband and daughter liked these but I was not a big fan. The almond flavor was in the background but it seemed strange and offputting. This has been my first attempt at savory sweet potatoes (there was no sweet flavor at all) and I don't know if I will make them again. I much prefer a sweet-flavored sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Didn't work for us. The potatoes and onions never caramelized even though we baked them 45 min longer and finished them under the broiler. Maybe because we used a glass dish? We weren't able to taste the amaretto liqueur at all, so what was the point?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
yum!! I reduced the oil to 2 Tbsp and will try to reduce it more next time. I did not use the amaretto and they were delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States