Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Brought these for Thanksgiving Dinner at my sister's house, and everyone in our family, even the ones who don't like sweet potatoes, loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is fantastic. I made this for the first time last year and have made it about a dozen times since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
really liked this, I wish I had the amaretto and almonds would have been perfect. I substituted with orange liquor it was very good. Will make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was wonderful. I was looking for an alternative to the too-sweet sweet potatoes, and this did the job beautifully. I didn't care for the amaretto, so I omitted it and the thyme and substituted balsamic vinegar. It was "to die for". With eight people to dinner, there wasn't a single bite of this left to put away with the leftovers. To coat evenly, put everything in a large ziploc bag and shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. Cut the thyme back by about 10 percent. We made this twice, once with about 14 sweet potatoes and once with half of that. I like to mix the thyme and pepper with the olive oil before hand and let it sit. I also substituted orange juice but will try amaretto next time to see if it carmelizes better, or at least freshly squeezed orange juice. Orange juice from a carton tends to be so watery, esp. compared to the liqueur called for in the recipe. In large batches, it is hard to get it to carmelize because the potatoes are bunched up a bit, but they still turn out flavorful and soft. I also omitted the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
could not see where the Amaretto made much of a difference. didn't change anything in recipe. except for a different twist on the traditional sweets, which I am always looking for, I didn't think these were that special. I used a white onion(mild) and it seemed to overpower the sweet potato. would like to try w/o the onion and use triple sec or grand marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I never would have thought of this combination on my own. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent. Made for Thanksgiving because I wanted a healthier option to the marshmellowy sweet potatoes. I was short on time since the turkey tied up the oven & I didn't want it sitting out for an hour while I waited for the potatoes, so I tried a couple of short cuts. I peeled and cut the potatoes, coated with oil, seasoned with salt/pepper and Italian seasoning, then covered in seran wrap and microwaved about 10 minutes til they were getting soft. While I did this, I sauteed the onions. Once I took the potatoes out of the microwave, I added the onions and put uncovered in the oven for about 20-25 minutes and they were great. (I left out the amaretto cuz I couldn't find any at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great, simple recipe. The flavors of the potatoes and onion really shine through without the layer of syrupy candy found in most baked sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love sweet potatoes no matter how they are prepared. For this recipe I skipped the amaretto liqour since I did not have any on hand. I prepared the rest as instructed using one large sweet potato yam. I baked these at 350 degrees for the first 20 minutes covered then removed the foil and baked for another 30 minutes. This made for crispier sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes and onions were carmelized and sweet while the almonds added a nice crunch-a good combination of flavors. The almond flavor comes through very well from just the toasted sliced almonds and adds texture to the sweet potatoes. The amount was enough for the two of us tonight plus leftovers for his lunch tomorrow. This is healthy, tasty, and full of nutrients. I served this with, “Caramel Apple Pork Chops,” and “Green Beans with Walnuts,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States