Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent. Made for Thanksgiving because I wanted a healthier option to the marshmellowy sweet potatoes. I was short on time since the turkey tied up the oven & I didn't want it sitting out for an hour while I waited for the potatoes, so I tried a couple of short cuts. I peeled and cut the potatoes, coated with oil, seasoned with salt/pepper and Italian seasoning, then covered in seran wrap and microwaved about 10 minutes til they were getting soft. While I did this, I sauteed the onions. Once I took the potatoes out of the microwave, I added the onions and put uncovered in the oven for about 20-25 minutes and they were great. (I left out the amaretto cuz I couldn't find any at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great, simple recipe. The flavors of the potatoes and onion really shine through without the layer of syrupy candy found in most baked sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love sweet potatoes no matter how they are prepared. For this recipe I skipped the amaretto liqour since I did not have any on hand. I prepared the rest as instructed using one large sweet potato yam. I baked these at 350 degrees for the first 20 minutes covered then removed the foil and baked for another 30 minutes. This made for crispier sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes and onions were carmelized and sweet while the almonds added a nice crunch-a good combination of flavors. The almond flavor comes through very well from just the toasted sliced almonds and adds texture to the sweet potatoes. The amount was enough for the two of us tonight plus leftovers for his lunch tomorrow. This is healthy, tasty, and full of nutrients. I served this with, “Caramel Apple Pork Chops,” and “Green Beans with Walnuts,” also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this for four generations of family last night and everyone from the six year old to the eighty year old loved these potatoes. I didn't have amaretto and used orange juice (suggested by another reviewer) instead but otherwise made the recipe as written. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was pretty good. I did not use almonds nor the amaretto and it turned out perfect. I did use additional extra virgin olive oil on the potatoes and the onions to prevent burning the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious! Even picky teens ate it, roasted in an iron skillet, didn't have liqueur so subbed orange juice, used half the onion amount because that's what I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is fantastic! I coarsely chopped my almonds (in blender) and added more than 1/4 cup. They coated the potatoes and you got some of the nutty taste in every bite. I also omitted the liqueur. I prefer the healthier option and the natural flavors. Additionally, I didn't have thyme so I used rosemary instead. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Not a fan of sweet potatoes but my wife is so I try to incorporate them into our diet. This is my favorite way to prepare them I have found. Healthy and good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Needed a lst minute dishs to bring to a friends dinner party, chose this and it was a tremendous hit. I left out the amaretto (will try next time) and used orange zest and juice. It was wonderful - thanks Jean for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent just as stated. 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States