Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious - I didn't toast the almonds - I just threw them on after potatoes were uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this tonight for the first time but DEFINITELY not the last! Was very good, even though we forgot to add the sliced almonds at the end. Very sweet taste. I think the sliced almonds would bring out the amaretto even more. All around great way to prepare sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Didn't have amaretto or almonds, and I sprinkled some garlic powder over top. They turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
While it was nice to have sweet potatoes without all the sugar. We did not find this exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Oh my, I'm in awe of how good this was. 5 stars+++! I used the suggestion of substituting brown sugar for the amaretto and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Brought these for Thanksgiving Dinner at my sister's house, and everyone in our family, even the ones who don't like sweet potatoes, loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is fantastic. I made this for the first time last year and have made it about a dozen times since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
really liked this, I wish I had the amaretto and almonds would have been perfect. I substituted with orange liquor it was very good. Will make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was wonderful. I was looking for an alternative to the too-sweet sweet potatoes, and this did the job beautifully. I didn't care for the amaretto, so I omitted it and the thyme and substituted balsamic vinegar. It was "to die for". With eight people to dinner, there wasn't a single bite of this left to put away with the leftovers. To coat evenly, put everything in a large ziploc bag and shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. Cut the thyme back by about 10 percent. We made this twice, once with about 14 sweet potatoes and once with half of that. I like to mix the thyme and pepper with the olive oil before hand and let it sit. I also substituted orange juice but will try amaretto next time to see if it carmelizes better, or at least freshly squeezed orange juice. Orange juice from a carton tends to be so watery, esp. compared to the liqueur called for in the recipe. In large batches, it is hard to get it to carmelize because the potatoes are bunched up a bit, but they still turn out flavorful and soft. I also omitted the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States