Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I forgot the almonds. But, OMG, this recipe is amazingly delicious! It may be my favorite sweet potato dish yet. My son, who won't go near sweet potato fries (is he really MY son?!), declared them to be worthy of seconds. I give this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because they made a mess of my baking dish. The sauce carmelized on the edges and the sweet potatoes and onions stuck to the sides, tearing as I dished them out. I don't think they'd be very presentable for dinner guests. But, hey, then you'd have to share! Next time (and there will be a next time), I'll try lining the dish with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Delicious. I am trying to eat more vegan inspired foods and I like sweet potatoes, just not the casseroles with the marshmellows. I made this and it was easy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Really yummy, but I thought the thyme was a little strong. I was trying to make it as kid friendly as possible so I added a little brown sugar after it was done baking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
very good!! made half recipe for two people. used 2 tbsp brown sugar because i didn't have the amaretto. would like to experiment by adding a couple red potatoes, asparagus, or parsnips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I thought these sweet potatoes were delicious. I had so much going on with the dinner I was making that I forgot to add the almonds. I'm sure they would have added a nice crunch, but they weren't missed in making this dish taste very good. Instead of dried thyme, I used fresh and also added some fresh rosemary. I loved the carmelized onions and baked them on a cookie sheet uncovered so the sweet potatoes & onions could carmelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious - I didn't toast the almonds - I just threw them on after potatoes were uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this tonight for the first time but DEFINITELY not the last! Was very good, even though we forgot to add the sliced almonds at the end. Very sweet taste. I think the sliced almonds would bring out the amaretto even more. All around great way to prepare sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Didn't have amaretto or almonds, and I sprinkled some garlic powder over top. They turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
While it was nice to have sweet potatoes without all the sugar. We did not find this exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McArthur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Oh my, I'm in awe of how good this was. 5 stars+++! I used the suggestion of substituting brown sugar for the amaretto and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States