Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Awesome! Used fig preserves and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Brought to a family meal and it was the only dish picked clean! I didn't toast the almonds - just put them on for the last 20 minutes and it came out fine. Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this last night and we both loved it. I've been cooking dinner for about 2 months since I get home eariler than my wife but don't know a lot about cooking. The onions were good but pretty well done. I'll try waiting till I remove the cover to add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Liked the recipe but I didn't really make the recipe. I didn't have amaretto and thyme so I used beer and rosemary. The cook time seamed to be to long or to hot. I stopped after 30/10 and they were just over cooked. But, everything tasted good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Loved the dish. It wasn't browning and caramelizing as much as I would have liked, so I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Baked about 60 minutes altogether, plus a couple minutes on broil at the end. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
BAM! 5 STARS. I omitted the amaretto, and subbed turkey stock. My MIL couldn't stop raving about them! MY MIL!!!! I took these to Thanksgiving dinner tonight, and everyone LOVED them. Plus, even the people who are lactose intolerent got to have some, because these sweet 'taters aren't cooked in butter! HUGE SUCCESS! BIG WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Whitsett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe states. We love sweet potatoes that are not-so-sweet and I roast them frequently with oil and spices. I thought this would be a nice change but I was wrong. The amaretto gave the dish a very strange flavor with an almost bitter aftertaste. The potatoes were cooked to a pulp, almost baby food consistency. I love roasting sweet potatoes with onions and spices but something about the combinating here was not good. I'm guessing a lot of the good reviews on here didn't use the amaretto and I would highly suggest substituing brown sugar as some suggest. I also don't really know why you need to cover for the first 30 minutes, maybe that's why they turned to mush. I had such high hopes for this one, oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I love sweet potatoes but have never had them like tis before. The amaretto made this sound very interesting. Verdict: Yummy!! My husband dislikes sweet potatoes and he gobbled these up. If I were to be extremely picky, I will use a little less Amaretto next time (just a touch). Otherwise, these were absolutely delicious AND simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious! We loved it. I don't know if it is necessary to cover it up, but I would recommend stirring once. We cooked it long enough to carmelize it on the bottom. We forgot the almonds, so I can't wait to try it again with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Delicious at dinner last night! I just followed the instructions. I didn't have amaretto so used just a bit of brown sugar and citrus juice as others have mentioned. My kitchen still smelled wonderful this morning from the caramelized onions and roasted potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUPSCAFE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States