Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I made this without the almonds. I wasn't sure how well sweet potatoes and onions would work together, but to my surprise, they were delicious! I made this dish for my husband's birthday dinner, and they were a hit with everyone, including the inlaws and the kids. I would suggest lightly spraying the cookie sheet/baking dish, in addition to the oil used in the recipe, as the outermost edges of the potatoes and onions seemed to burn and stick to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Out of this world!! The sweet potatoes and onions were carmelized and delicious and the almonds were a surprising crunch -- great combination! The sweetness of the amaretto was just right. I did cheat a little -- rather than toast the almonds I just added them to the last 20 minutes of baking. They were perfectly toasted without the extra step. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
My family loved it, I didn't have any amaretto, so, I used a little frozen O.J. I am not a big fan of thyme and I did find that it overpowered the recipe slightly. Next time I will cut the thyme back by a third and I think the O.J. was a nice touch. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this recipe in bulk for Thanksgiving dinner for 20. For anyone who doesn't really like the sickly-sweet candied yams normally served on holidays, THIS IS THE BEST!! I am going to make it a regular part of my "normal" dinners, too. It is easy, and very very tasty!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Delicious! I made it without the amaretto, and can't imagine how it could have been better! I left it uncovered to cook for almost one hour, which made the potatoes nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I didn't have amaretto, so I used 3 tbsp (or so) of brown sugar and tossed with onion and sweet potatoes in large bowl. Next time I will use less onion. But overall my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These were good, but I will uncover them sooner than after 30 minutes because I want everything to crisp up. The leftovers mixed with broth and pureed made AMAZING soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is now one of my favorite side dishes an a refreshing alternative way to make sweet potatoes. I tried this the first time using a few tablespoons of orange juice and a little brown sugar as I didn't have Amaretto on hand. I used Amaretto the 2nd time, it's good either way but I preferred the O.J./brown sugar way best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This was just awesome. I was a little skeptical about the combination of amaretto with the thyme and almonds, but it was so good. I followed the recipe exactly, only I did let it cook a little longer without the cover for a little more roasted flavor. Even my 11 year old ate the onions! Will definitely make again, and would be great for holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
delicious! i make variations of this all of the time. easy way to get a great side dish. you just have to make sure you coat the potatoes well with the olive oil and use a good (glass) baking dish to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States