Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was good. I used 2 potatoes and 1 medium onion. I reduced the thyme to 1/4 tsp and baked it uncovered for 1 hour. Next time, I'll probably reduce the amount of amaretto; it was slightly over-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
delicious! i make variations of this all of the time. easy way to get a great side dish. you just have to make sure you coat the potatoes well with the olive oil and use a good (glass) baking dish to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Very Good. Didn't have amaretto so used anisette. Nice alternative for sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Easy with great flavor. I added a splash of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These were good, but I will uncover them sooner than after 30 minutes because I want everything to crisp up. The leftovers mixed with broth and pureed made AMAZING soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Made a few changes and turned out great! Omitted liqueur and almonds and added 3 slices of thick-cut bacon (chopped). Used less than 3 tablespoons of oil. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
YUM! I roast sweet potatoes and onions a lot but I have never added amaretto to any of my roasted vegetables. To my surprise, it was delicious. I put all the ingredients in a Ziplock bag and let them marinade for a few hours and then baked them on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil sprayed with Pam. Everything turned out great and the clean up was a breeze. I also topped it with fresh rosemary but I forgot the almonds which I love so I will do this again with the almonds as they are so good for you also. You cannot taste the amaretto but it just sweetens the vegetables and caramalizes them. I served this with a nice sirloin steak and it was a great meal. I can't wait to get some more sweet potatoes to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were delicious! The amaretto really brings out the sweetness of the potato and onions. I wouldn't make any changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is now one of my favorite side dishes an a refreshing alternative way to make sweet potatoes. I tried this the first time using a few tablespoons of orange juice and a little brown sugar as I didn't have Amaretto on hand. I used Amaretto the 2nd time, it's good either way but I preferred the O.J./brown sugar way best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LLTURNER
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Fantastic! I made a 'mistake' and put the almonds in as it was making, but instead of burning they turned out just fine. I probably put a lot more olive oil in than was called for which might have helped. I did not have the liqueur, so I went with the orange juice suggested by another reviewer. Excellent recipe and is now on the favorites list in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States