Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious! We loved it. I don't know if it is necessary to cover it up, but I would recommend stirring once. We cooked it long enough to carmelize it on the bottom. We forgot the almonds, so I can't wait to try it again with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Delicious at dinner last night! I just followed the instructions. I didn't have amaretto so used just a bit of brown sugar and citrus juice as others have mentioned. My kitchen still smelled wonderful this morning from the caramelized onions and roasted potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUPSCAFE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This comes together so quickly and is a healthy, filling meal. Sweet potatoes are so good for you! I will probably add a bit more flavor with some other herbs next time. And maybe garlic. Just delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We make this regularly, usually with grilled fish and collards or kale. I don't have amaretto, though, so I add a couple of big spoon fulls of molasses and then use whatever nuts I have in the house, often pecans. This makes a lot, but we always somehow manage to eat it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I made this as a side dish to go along with the "Brown Sugar Meatloaf" recipe on this site. WOW WOW WOW! I love sweet potatoes cooked ANY way, but my husband isn't as big a fan. You know you've done well when hub eats two helpings of both. We are nut lovers, so the toasted almonds were GLORIOUS and the perfect compliment to the softly roasted potatoes and onions. We discussed how important it is to use a SWEET onion alongside sweet potato. I cannot imagine using a regular, strong onion. It just wouldn't work flavor-wise. Otherwise, I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was divine. He told me to "put this in the rotation."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Everyone loved this recipe - a keeper, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this recipe and really did enjoy it, a nice way to use sweet potato without adding all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I can't handle those super sweet recipes--at holidays I just skip them. I loved this--the flavors were each distinctive, but they blended well. I had to punt a little on this (who keeps Amaretto on hand?). I used bourbon, which worked quite well, and slightly increased the amount of oil. Also used a bit more thyme because I really like it--it is a prominent ingredient. I didn't have almonds, so I toasted some walnuts and sprinkled them on top. The walnuts go very well with the whole mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is so yummy. I have even just sliced the potatoes and onions to save time. To save $$, I use almond flavoring rather then the liqueur. But this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Love this recipe. I have made it several times in the past two weeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States