Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Really nice subtle slight sweet flavor. More sophisticated than typical recipes. This is one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was awesome, a different twist to the average brown sugar/butter style. Just a little bit sweet, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is outstanding! Made the recipe exactly as written, and was a little hesitant, as I've only had the traditional candied type sweet potatoes--never tried a savory version. OMG. Very very good. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Awesome! My husband who would never eat sweet potatoes loved this!! That deserves 5 stars!!! The potatoes melted in your mouth. Would defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmassauro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner and my husband and I really enjoyed it. I did only use one Sweet onion though because it was very large. Instead of the amaretto liquer, I found amaretto syrup in my grocery store. It was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've roasted sweet potatoes with onions for years but never thought about adding in a bit of amaretto - it's genius! The only change I made to the recipe was to quarter the onions, and to roast uncovered for a longer time (about an hour and 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I didn't have amaretto, so I used 3 tbsp (or so) of brown sugar and tossed with onion and sweet potatoes in large bowl. Next time I will use less onion. But overall my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Out of this world!! The sweet potatoes and onions were carmelized and delicious and the almonds were a surprising crunch -- great combination! The sweetness of the amaretto was just right. I did cheat a little -- rather than toast the almonds I just added them to the last 20 minutes of baking. They were perfectly toasted without the extra step. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I was expecting a more "roasted" texture for the sweet potatoes, and they came out more "steamed", perhaps because of being covered for the first 30 minutes; the amaretto flavor does not really come through either. Did not really care for this one. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Delicious! I made it without the amaretto, and can't imagine how it could have been better! I left it uncovered to cook for almost one hour, which made the potatoes nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States