Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I followed all the instructions, except I substituted OJ for the amaretto. My only complaint is that it was too oily. I think I'll cut it back to 1 tbsp of olive oil and I'll spray the pan with non-stick spray first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I really loved this dish as did my family! I replaced the amaretto liqueur with 3 healthy tablespoons of orange juice concentrate and omitted the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I made this without the almonds. I wasn't sure how well sweet potatoes and onions would work together, but to my surprise, they were delicious! I made this dish for my husband's birthday dinner, and they were a hit with everyone, including the inlaws and the kids. I would suggest lightly spraying the cookie sheet/baking dish, in addition to the oil used in the recipe, as the outermost edges of the potatoes and onions seemed to burn and stick to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was delicious! Didn't change a thing. Recipe is perfect as is. Got rave reviews. Was gone in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Really nice subtle slight sweet flavor. More sophisticated than typical recipes. This is one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was awesome, a different twist to the average brown sugar/butter style. Just a little bit sweet, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is outstanding! Made the recipe exactly as written, and was a little hesitant, as I've only had the traditional candied type sweet potatoes--never tried a savory version. OMG. Very very good. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Awesome! My husband who would never eat sweet potatoes loved this!! That deserves 5 stars!!! The potatoes melted in your mouth. Would defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmassauro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner and my husband and I really enjoyed it. I did only use one Sweet onion though because it was very large. Instead of the amaretto liquer, I found amaretto syrup in my grocery store. It was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've roasted sweet potatoes with onions for years but never thought about adding in a bit of amaretto - it's genius! The only change I made to the recipe was to quarter the onions, and to roast uncovered for a longer time (about an hour and 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States