Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I had sweet potatoes lying around and needed inspiration. Man, this was great! I had a couple forkfuls to taste it and I'm not even kidding, I ended up eating nearly half of it! So good! I did modify per other users, I didn't have amaretto (sad, I know!) so I subbed 3 tbs. orange juice and a sprinkle of brown sugar. I loaded it with black pepper and cut it down to one onion. Excellent, excellent! I will make again and again and again and will now have an excuse to buy amaretto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Amount was enough for 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Made this for a party and everyone loved it. The sweet potatoes and onions really compliement one another. And the amaretto adds a wonderful flavor in the background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Perfect side dish!! I love sweet potatoes, and they turned out great! I was worried about them being too hard, but they actually were very soft. I think I could have baked them uncovered for 10-15 minutes, but they were still really tasty...Oh, I omited the almonds, only because I had none to throw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
a new favorite! we love sweet potatoes and this recipe is very easy. didnt have amaretto-used a splash of spiced rum and some brown sugar. nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Very tasty! I like sweet potatoes that aren't loaded with sugar and extra sweetness. These were really good!! Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe as is but I added a couple items and it is wonderful. I lined a 9x13 pan with parchment paper, pour everything in the pan, top with filets of fish. (I like walleye) Season with salt and pepper and top with fresh thyme. Cover with another piece of parchment paper and tuck under bottom piece. The parchment paper steams the contents inside. Cooking time approx. 15 min at 425 and 15 at 400. Depends on the thickness of your filets. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very good, the sweet potatoes and onions compliment each other. Great healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Great savory dish! I made this for a company potluck lunch and everyone raved about it! The amaretto adds a nice distinct flavor to it but never empowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Carino-Hogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is really good! I always forget to add the Almonds, but it never matters. Great when you don't want to do brown sugar sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States