Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I didn't have amaretto, but otherwise followed the recipe. They were slightly overdone, but the flavor is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I am rating this 5 even though I didn't do almost all the steps! All I did was cube the sweet potatoes and put into a zip-loc bag. Added a swirl of olive oil, salt & pepper. Poured out into a 1/4 sheet cake pan that had been sprayed with Pam. I used the same cooking temp and time and they were AWESOME! My DH is very picky and he said they tasted better than the sweet potato fries at the restaurants.. and this is so much healthier. Next time I will cut the taters into french fry shape and do the same thing. Thanks for the method even if I didn't follow the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Made this tonight and it was superb. My boyfriend had yams before and wasn't too fond of them but he really enjoyed this recipe. I was worried the amaretto would become overpowering but it was nice and subtle. The almonds just finish the recipe off. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was an awesome recipe! I loved the flavor created by cooking the onions with sweet potatoes in Amaretto. I pretty much stuck to the recipe with the one exception of tossing the slivered almonds into the dish twenty minutes before it was done cooking. The flavors in this dish are awesome! I am definitely making it again. Sooo goood...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
What a great recipe! I was looking for something nutritious with an autumn flavor, and this was just the ticket. A few changes I made: Like other reviewers suggested, I decreased the amount of dried thyme. I just used what was left in the shaker, probably 1/2-3/4 tsp, and it was plenty. The subtle flavor was wonderful. Also, I subbed orange juice for amaretto, because I'm on a bit of a tight budget and OJ is a more practical choice for my household. Last, I threw in some prunes (sliced in half) because I love them. They're full of iron, they add color contrast to the dish, and they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delicious! Made exactly as written expect I skipped the almonds (didn't have any) Will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was awesome. I didnt have amaretto so I used o.j. Also, I cooked it uncovered for 50 min. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very tasty!! I substituted the amaretto with orange juice and didn't put almonds in (because I had none). I baked it uncovered for 50 min. It still came out soft... I was hoping it to be crispy. But anywho, this is really really good. I will make it again and again. Will try different baking time to see the best results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious and very healthy! Nice combination of flavors. The only change I made on this dish was to bake uncovered for 50 minutes, I like it more when is crispy and well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Made this for company sans the amaretto as I didn't have any. They devoured it. Asked for the recipe. Made it again for a Hawaiian themed pot luck with coconut shrimp. Even the kids were devouring it not realizing those were onions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhorn, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States