Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was excellent and so easy! I roasted the sweet potatoes whole (make sure to line oven w/ foil) at 450 for about an hour and then added to the other ingredients that I already had simmering for a while. I didn't have celery, used regular onion and garlic, no tomato paste and chicken broth. I also did not add a potato or parsley. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
A keeper! This is a delicious recipe and full of good veggies! A yummy veggie meal! Very filling. The only thing I will change the next time would be to cut back substantially on the dried thyme as it was somewhat overpowering. Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
An incredibly satisfying soup perfect for a wholesome vegetarian meal on a cold night. I added about half a cup of toasted peanuts on top to add some crunch. I will be keeping this recipe as a staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdmadgirl7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This soup is great--very flavorful and easy to work with! I made this before and added large chunks of tomato; I made it last night and added two huge cloves of garlic (my family loves garlic), substituted the vegetable broth for chicken broth, and added about 2 pounds of turkey ham to give it some extra protein. This soup is great, not only by the recipe, but it's also easy to work with/adapt for what you have in your kitchen. I get compliments every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a really yummy soup that is also fairly healthy. It's easy to prepare and smells heavenly while cooking. Might add a bit more liquid next time and there's no way that it serves 10 in my family. But those are tiny things. 2nd time changes - Added an additional cup of vegie broth, substituted 1 zucchini, chopped, for celery and added it at the same time as the onion. Added mix of cornstarch and vegetable broth for thickness. Doubled the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
can't wait to make this. It looks delicious and mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is delicious! I boiled the sweet and regular potato together in the vegetable broth and mixed in one can of regular corn, undrained, and one can of cream style corn. I thinkened it up with some shredded cheese melted in at the end. The family begged me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This recipe is a bit time consuming but WELL worth the effort. A perfectly hearty soup for the winter. Don't let "vegan" scare you from this. I have made it multiple times and all I think is YUMMMMM. It also holds up very well for several days and trully only gets better. I have served it at dinner parties and I get nothing but compliments and people begging me for the recipe. SUPER AWESOME!!!!! The only changes I make is I add more sweet potatoes and corn. I like it super chunky. I love to serve it with a roasted beet salad. It is a perfect partner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Added fat free cream cheese (1/2 block) and a little maple syrup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States