Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
ridiculously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
When I was walking home amidst the piles of snow the other night, I remembered I had leftovers of this soup waiting for me in the fridge. That was a beautiful moment. The only thing I would do differently with this recipe would be pureeing some of the potatoes to make it more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a decent soup. However it looks like hell. I added some garlic and used less celery and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Great Chowder! Chunky consistency, smooth taste and not too sweet! i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I found this recipe after doing an ingredients search because I needed to use up some sweet potatoes. The only thing I didn't have was the tomato paste so I tossed in a (mostly drained) can of Rotel figuring the tomatoes would be a good sub and the chiles would add a little spice. I also added a can of white beans just because, why not?! :) Based on other reviewers comments, I added extra vegetable broth (4 cups instead of 3) to make it more of a soup than a stew. The Rotel gave it the perfect little kick and even my 13 year old who initially said, "ew, too many vegetables" ended up eating two big bowls. Will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Although this recipe came out AMAZING (I was on the phone with my mom after eating and my boyfriend yelled into the phone- "Candy, your daughter can COOK!!!"), I'm giving the recipe a 3 because it was a solid base but needed some extras to really be tasty. Used 4 cups of vegetable stock instead of 3. I included everything already in the recipe, but after the soup boiled and then simmered for 25 minutes, I then added ground sage (which I *highly* recommend; it really added a great fall flavor), more pepper and salt, about 3/4 or 1/2 cup of light cream, and Siracha (hot sauce) to taste. The result was spectacular. After finishing his bowl, my boyfriend was literally spooning it straight out of the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My family loved this! I'm vegetarian, but my family isn't, so I have a hard time finding things that they'll eat that I can, too. I made a couple of tweeks, I upped the broth to 4 Cups, decreased the celery to 1 cup, and left out the thyme and bay leaf because I didn't have any and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We love this soup! Have been meaning to review it for a couple of years now. To save time, I will usually roast the sweet potatoes either earlier in the day, or the night before. Then it's a snap to put together. A very satisfying, healthy dish. Thank you, Mellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Yum! I love it made w/ chicken broth and also about a 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper flakes (which surprisingly brings out a LOT of spice). Oh, I also omit the celery, shallot, and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States