Roasted Sherry Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We absolutely loved this recipe once we realised that the cooking time is wrong. It should read roast for 30 minutes per pound (NOT PER HALF POUND)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was Amazing! We prepared it for New Years. At first I was skeptical of the Sheri....but that's what made it GREAT. I did rub salt on the outside and inside per another reviewer's advice. VERY Flavorful. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made this duck a few weeks ago and it was great. Very easy recipe and the taste was brilliant. 30 minutes per pound cooking time. This recipe is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this for my FIRST at home Christmas dinner with all of my family here. Everyone was skeptical of me changing up the traditional ham, but they all loved it. Next year I will have more than one to make sure everyone gets a good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was really incredible. I paused several times when I noticed there was no salt in the ingredients, and I had serious doubts about how that would go over... I was so pleasantly surprised! the taste is wonderful. You can appreciate the true taste of the duck, and the rosemary was just the icing on the cake. I used a large Mulard Duck Breast, and adjusted the recipe down to 2 servings. Warning, be careful when adjusting the recipe, because the actual preparation instructions include quantities that correspond to the amount of servings in the original recipe. No harm really, you may just have leftover rub or sherry that you won't use. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT (at least to me anyway :-) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Hi we made this duck for Christmas and it was delicious, i just would have rubbed in butter or a little salt, thats all, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made this recently so we could decide if we wanted to have it for Thanksgiving. It came out GREAT. (Cooked it 30 minutes per lb. not 30 minutes per 1/2 lb.) We have decided to have it for Thanksgiving. So moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe! This was my first go at roasting a duck and I was very impressed with how it turned out. Was great with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
FAN-TASTIC! original cooking time is right, but I backed the temperature off to about 275 and slow roasted the duck for 30min per 1/2lb. DELICIOUS. If you poke through the skin with the baster and inject the juices into the meat itself, the duck will stay moist in the fridge for almost a week as well! WILL make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious! I only cooked my 5 1/2 lb duck for 2 hours and it was plenty well-cooked. I basted often with the sherry mixture and the pan sauce was fabulous! Like a sauce from an upscale restaurant. I was afraid the sherry would overwhelm the flavor, but it was rich and delicious. Hubby was totally impressed. It was our Thanksgiving dinner along with roasted potatoes and Roasted Garlic Cauliflower from this site. So elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States