Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Didn't use rutabagas or sweet potatoes or turnips because didn't have them on hand, but just used more regular potatoes, carrots, and, parsnips. Will try with the other vegetables some day. Very good. Slightly sweet from the apple juice which was fine. I would suggest lining your pan with foil for easier cleanup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I was making this for only 4, so I used only a turnip and a sweet potato. Used white grape juice because I had it on hand; microwave 5 minutes in the juice because I was short on time, then roasted it – WONDERFUL! I wanted to dress it up a little, so I added half an onion (wedged) and several sprigs of rosemary and roasted until onion was done. This really gave it piazza and more variety to the flavor. My father-in-law (who is not at all adventuresome with food) loved it and asked my mother-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I did a Renaissance feast for 50 people and used this recipe. They loved it. I kept it simple, potatoes, sweet potatoes and carrots. I also tossed the veggies in olive oil before roasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this with what I had on hand, which was 2 sweet potatoes, a rutabaga (sweeter version of a turnip), brussel sprouts and a purple onion. I cut the onion into wedges, trimmed the ends and cut a half inch cross into the bottom of the brussel sprouts, and cut the sweet potato and rutabaga into fries. Tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper on a big sheet pan (with 1 inch sides) 4oz each of apple juice and a fruity piniot grigio--didn't reduce it just pored into the pan with the veggies. Baked for 40 min, taking the sweet potato out after 25 min and turning the veggies in the liquid remaining in the bottom of the pan. Back in the oven for another 15min. Perfect carmelization and could have put the photo on the cover of Gourmet Magazine. (Too bad my batteries were dead in the camera). I will serve this tomorrow nite at room temp with a drizzle of balsamic & olive oiil, along side Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon (from this site) and wild rice pilaf. Make sure you use good wine. If you don't want to drink it--don't cook with it as it will intensify the flavor it reduces. I used Clos Du Bois but any good quality white wine would be good. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These veggies are exceptionally delicious, especially when paired with an apple and pork main dish. Although, come to think of it, the veggies really ought to be the main dish! Don't be afraid to make this recipe even if you're missing one or two of the vegetables called for; I've made it with and without carrots and regular potatoes, and loved it each time. Unfortunately, scrubbing, pealing, and chopping this number of vegetables is quite time-consuming; if it weren't, this would be a staple in my house instead of just a special occasion dish. UPDATE 11/25/10: Cut your roasting time by pre-boiling the veggies for a bit. This also helps prevent the veggies from drying out and developing sharp, hard edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
In my opinion the directions should be revised. Veggies should be in a shallow layer - I guess that's why the two pans - and the cooking time seems to be much longer. I'm now at two hours in the oven and its still not done. Also, the liquid did not reduce that much in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a lot of work but it turned out great and I have a lot of leftovers. I would say though, to coat the veggies with olive oil so that they roast well. Also, I threw in some Butternut Squash, excellent. I also let the apple/wine sauce boil down to about 1 cup instead of 3/4 because I had a lot of vegetables to cover and toss. My boyfriend and I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made as written for thanksgiving, but with differant veg. (pink beets red beets and carrots) I didn't even get to try it as it was all gone by the time it came to me! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I picked to add butternut squash since I only had a rutabega and not also the turnip. These assorted vegetables did not cook in the 40 minutes and kept drying out as they were cooking. I had no carmalization occur. I don't think I would try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was ok on the other hand my 2 kids loved it so hmm i wll probally make again just because they like...I Might make a few changes for added flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Tip for Whitney and Ashley's Roasted Vegetables

Discover a great trick for making simple herb-roasted veggies with no mess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States