Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We omitted the white wine and added a splash of maple syrup. Also added beets (which makes everything red). Deliciousness. My husband requests this dish at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've made this four times now, sometimes substituting other vegetables. It's always been delicious. Last night I added fennel which worked very well. You can turn the leftovers into a delicious soup as well, just blend in batches with chicken stock, season it up (I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and roasted garlic), add a some more chicken stock, and add some heavy whipping cream at the end (don't boil!) if that's your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not bad. I didn't have parsnips, so I subbed carrots, but otherwise I stayed right to the recipe. I'm still not a fan of turnips and rutabagas, but this is probably one of the best ways to do them so that they are palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made as written for thanksgiving, but with differant veg. (pink beets red beets and carrots) I didn't even get to try it as it was all gone by the time it came to me! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Prepared this dish for dinner tonight, and my husband and I both loved it. We rated it 10+ delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was not impressed with this recipe. It made a TON of vegetables (I should have known better) and they didn't have a wow-factor for me. The apple juice/wine reduction took quite a bit of time. And while this recipe was easy though very tmie consuming, I don't think it was worth it. I think I'll stick to my usual way - a little agave, a little olive oil, a little lemon juice, salt and pepper and roasted. I did end up turning all the leftover veggies into a delicious spiced bisque though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was good. I made it with just the carrots and sweet potatoes. I first coated them with olive oil and the spices, then poured on the liquid mixture (in which I omitted the butter). The mixture barely got reduced during a half hour of boiling, so I used it as is. Forty minutes is not enough baking time - after an hour they were good, and after another 15 minutes, excellent. Pairs very nicely with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made a scaled down version of this without the parsnips or rutabaga. It came out great and is an awesome seasonal sidedish.It does come out very sweet, so I will add an onion next time and maybe experiment with some herbs and using apple cider vinegar for some of the juice. But this is a great basic recipe that you can tinker with to adjust to your own taste easily. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was so good!!! I made a few changes based on what I had available. I used butternut squash, brussel sprouts, turnips and onions cut into 1 inch pieces. I cooked equal parts white wine, and apple juice. I added fresh thyme sprigs and roated garlic cloves to the mixture and reduced by about 1/2. I lined a baking sheet with foil, tossed the veggies in olive oil / salt / pepper and topped with the wine mixture and baked.... I will be making this again... tonight!!! Great recipe Christine, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcshow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States