Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alita
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Gives regular old roots excellent, moist flavor! Made the house smell delicious for the next day! Really simple & easy to make. Thanks for sharing this! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I was making this for only 4, so I used only a turnip and a sweet potato. Used white grape juice because I had it on hand; microwave 5 minutes in the juice because I was short on time, then roasted it – WONDERFUL! I wanted to dress it up a little, so I added half an onion (wedged) and several sprigs of rosemary and roasted until onion was done. This really gave it piazza and more variety to the flavor. My father-in-law (who is not at all adventuresome with food) loved it and asked my mother-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Prepared this dish for dinner tonight, and my husband and I both loved it. We rated it 10+ delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used rutabagas, turnips, carrots and sweet potatoes; it took longer than the allotted 40 minutes to fully cook, but it turned out delicious. The flavors were mellow and complemented the rest of my Thanksgiving meal very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I did a Renaissance feast for 50 people and used this recipe. They loved it. I kept it simple, potatoes, sweet potatoes and carrots. I also tossed the veggies in olive oil before roasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
used red wine instead; the kitchen smelt like a candy store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this with what I had on hand, which was 2 sweet potatoes, a rutabaga (sweeter version of a turnip), brussel sprouts and a purple onion. I cut the onion into wedges, trimmed the ends and cut a half inch cross into the bottom of the brussel sprouts, and cut the sweet potato and rutabaga into fries. Tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper on a big sheet pan (with 1 inch sides) 4oz each of apple juice and a fruity piniot grigio--didn't reduce it just pored into the pan with the veggies. Baked for 40 min, taking the sweet potato out after 25 min and turning the veggies in the liquid remaining in the bottom of the pan. Back in the oven for another 15min. Perfect carmelization and could have put the photo on the cover of Gourmet Magazine. (Too bad my batteries were dead in the camera). I will serve this tomorrow nite at room temp with a drizzle of balsamic & olive oiil, along side Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon (from this site) and wild rice pilaf. Make sure you use good wine. If you don't want to drink it--don't cook with it as it will intensify the flavor it reduces. I used Clos Du Bois but any good quality white wine would be good. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These veggies are exceptionally delicious, especially when paired with an apple and pork main dish. Although, come to think of it, the veggies really ought to be the main dish! Don't be afraid to make this recipe even if you're missing one or two of the vegetables called for; I've made it with and without carrots and regular potatoes, and loved it each time. Unfortunately, scrubbing, pealing, and chopping this number of vegetables is quite time-consuming; if it weren't, this would be a staple in my house instead of just a special occasion dish. UPDATE 11/25/10: Cut your roasting time by pre-boiling the veggies for a bit. This also helps prevent the veggies from drying out and developing sharp, hard edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was so good!!! I made a few changes based on what I had available. I used butternut squash, brussel sprouts, turnips and onions cut into 1 inch pieces. I cooked equal parts white wine, and apple juice. I added fresh thyme sprigs and roated garlic cloves to the mixture and reduced by about 1/2. I lined a baking sheet with foil, tossed the veggies in olive oil / salt / pepper and topped with the wine mixture and baked.... I will be making this again... tonight!!! Great recipe Christine, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcshow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States