Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a lot of work but it turned out great and I have a lot of leftovers. I would say though, to coat the veggies with olive oil so that they roast well. Also, I threw in some Butternut Squash, excellent. I also let the apple/wine sauce boil down to about 1 cup instead of 3/4 because I had a lot of vegetables to cover and toss. My boyfriend and I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I did a Renaissance feast for 50 people and used this recipe. They loved it. I kept it simple, potatoes, sweet potatoes and carrots. I also tossed the veggies in olive oil before roasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was ok on the other hand my 2 kids loved it so hmm i wll probally make again just because they like...I Might make a few changes for added flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I cooked the sauce FOREVER and was unable to get it to reduce. I guess I did not get it. I am an accomplished cook, but this did not work. Ended up frying the vegetables for breakfast like fried potatoes and eating them with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I was making this for only 4, so I used only a turnip and a sweet potato. Used white grape juice because I had it on hand; microwave 5 minutes in the juice because I was short on time, then roasted it – WONDERFUL! I wanted to dress it up a little, so I added half an onion (wedged) and several sprigs of rosemary and roasted until onion was done. This really gave it piazza and more variety to the flavor. My father-in-law (who is not at all adventuresome with food) loved it and asked my mother-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
A bit sweeter than i would have liked but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I picked to add butternut squash since I only had a rutabega and not also the turnip. These assorted vegetables did not cook in the 40 minutes and kept drying out as they were cooking. I had no carmalization occur. I don't think I would try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Didn't use rutabagas or sweet potatoes or turnips because didn't have them on hand, but just used more regular potatoes, carrots, and, parsnips. Will try with the other vegetables some day. Very good. Slightly sweet from the apple juice which was fine. I would suggest lining your pan with foil for easier cleanup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States