Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Because of my location, I couldn't find turnips or parsnips, so I used parsley root and something that the name translates to radishes, but looked more like giant parsnips (and tasted like uncooked frozen french fries)... I enjoyed it, and so did my guests. And none of us are huge vegetable eaters. =) I might make again for thanksgiving or other large feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These veggies are exceptionally delicious, especially when paired with an apple and pork main dish. Although, come to think of it, the veggies really ought to be the main dish! Don't be afraid to make this recipe even if you're missing one or two of the vegetables called for; I've made it with and without carrots and regular potatoes, and loved it each time. Unfortunately, scrubbing, pealing, and chopping this number of vegetables is quite time-consuming; if it weren't, this would be a staple in my house instead of just a special occasion dish. UPDATE 11/25/10: Cut your roasting time by pre-boiling the veggies for a bit. This also helps prevent the veggies from drying out and developing sharp, hard edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I served this with ham at Christmas dinner. I divided up into two large roasting pans. Unfortunately one pan burnt to the bottom; the other was perfect. I served the two parts together and no one noticed any difference. Actually the burnt parts are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this with what I had on hand, which was 2 sweet potatoes, a rutabaga (sweeter version of a turnip), brussel sprouts and a purple onion. I cut the onion into wedges, trimmed the ends and cut a half inch cross into the bottom of the brussel sprouts, and cut the sweet potato and rutabaga into fries. Tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper on a big sheet pan (with 1 inch sides) 4oz each of apple juice and a fruity piniot grigio--didn't reduce it just pored into the pan with the veggies. Baked for 40 min, taking the sweet potato out after 25 min and turning the veggies in the liquid remaining in the bottom of the pan. Back in the oven for another 15min. Perfect carmelization and could have put the photo on the cover of Gourmet Magazine. (Too bad my batteries were dead in the camera). I will serve this tomorrow nite at room temp with a drizzle of balsamic & olive oiil, along side Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon (from this site) and wild rice pilaf. Make sure you use good wine. If you don't want to drink it--don't cook with it as it will intensify the flavor it reduces. I used Clos Du Bois but any good quality white wine would be good. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used rutabagas, turnips, carrots and sweet potatoes; it took longer than the allotted 40 minutes to fully cook, but it turned out delicious. The flavors were mellow and complemented the rest of my Thanksgiving meal very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
used red wine instead; the kitchen smelt like a candy store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
In my opinion the directions should be revised. Veggies should be in a shallow layer - I guess that's why the two pans - and the cooking time seems to be much longer. I'm now at two hours in the oven and its still not done. Also, the liquid did not reduce that much in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alita
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Gives regular old roots excellent, moist flavor! Made the house smell delicious for the next day! Really simple & easy to make. Thanks for sharing this! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was definitely different. We liked it, however, the leftovers sat in the fridge uneaten and had to be tossed. Not sure if I'll make this again or not. If so, maybe only 1/2 batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a lot of work but it turned out great and I have a lot of leftovers. I would say though, to coat the veggies with olive oil so that they roast well. Also, I threw in some Butternut Squash, excellent. I also let the apple/wine sauce boil down to about 1 cup instead of 3/4 because I had a lot of vegetables to cover and toss. My boyfriend and I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Tip for Whitney and Ashley's Roasted Vegetables

Discover a great trick for making simple herb-roasted veggies with no mess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States