Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe was great. I was nervous as I hadn't tried a majority of these vegetables. Would highly recommend and is great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was the greatest recipe,it was easy,other veggies can be used and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was great. I did change the preparation method, however: I tossed all of the vegetable cubes in olive oil and roasted them for about half an hour while I reduced the apple cider & wine. I added the cider-wine glaze to the pans and roasted an additional 15 minutes or so, until the glaze caramelized and any extra liquid had evaporated. I didn't use the butter, since I'd used olive oil for roasting. It looks like a ton when you're making it, but I think the number of servings is pretty accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Served with allrecipe.com's "Cuban pork roast" (using a very LEAN roast), "black beans and rice" & shredded romaine and a mango salsa for a real cuban flair. 1/2 serving is the perfect amount as a side dish. It is beautiful. I used yuca to substitute for the rutabagas for a cuban flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was fantastic. I did not include turnips and parsnips. As a consequence, I probably had about twice as much sauce relative to the amount of vegetables. I used 1Tbs butter and 2Tbs olive oil. After reducing the sauce volume, I added ~1/2 cup apple juice so there would be enough volume for all of the veggies to "boil" in the sauce. I cut the veggies to 1/4" thick slices, and covered the casserole dish with aluminum foil while cooking. I served this with a chicken dish, and drizzled a bit of the sauce from the chicken dish on the veggies before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Very good! I added a few boiling onions and a few cloves of garlic. I've never even tasted many of these root veggies but I loved this dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very, very good! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe is a great hit at the holidays. This is my third year making it for holidays and everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Yummy! I followed the instructions as written, except I added beets in addition to all the listed veggies. I don't know what some of the other reviewers were doing that gave them problems -- maybe not reducing the juice/wine enough? (It really does take 30 minutes.) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner on the grill - I ran out of oven space! The whole family liked it except my picky son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States