Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was great. I did change the preparation method, however: I tossed all of the vegetable cubes in olive oil and roasted them for about half an hour while I reduced the apple cider & wine. I added the cider-wine glaze to the pans and roasted an additional 15 minutes or so, until the glaze caramelized and any extra liquid had evaporated. I didn't use the butter, since I'd used olive oil for roasting. It looks like a ton when you're making it, but I think the number of servings is pretty accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This was really good. It even turned out despite my errors. I was impatient and didn't boil the apple juice and wine enough before adding the butter and pouring over the veggies. I felt guilty and pulled them out of the oven after 5 minutes or so, drained it and put the apple juice and wine back on the stove to reduce further. Then I reduced it too much! I poured the mixture over the veggies again and threw it in the oven for a second time. I let it cook for about 35 mintues and it turned out great! So yummy! I used a couple of sweet potatoes, some carrots and parsnips. The veggies had a nice flavour and had a bit of a gourmet taste to them. Not your typical cooked veggies. I'll make this again; thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were fantastic! I used Brussels sprouts, cut in half and no rutabaga, and the Brussels were almost my favorites! Except for maybe the parsnips - I love parsnips! Who knew? I roasted this a bit longer than the recipe, until the liquid had boiled away to a nice glaze and the veggies got browned a bit. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I really liked this dish. It is a sweeter variation from traditional root bake (usually just garlic, herbs & oil oil), but a nice change. I added beets and the juice mixed with the apple cider to make a nice sauce. Watch the cider/wine reduction it may take longer than 30mins, but make sure you are down to 3/4 cup before using. A great dish and I have already passed along the recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was the greatest recipe,it was easy,other veggies can be used and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Served with allrecipe.com's "Cuban pork roast" (using a very LEAN roast), "black beans and rice" & shredded romaine and a mango salsa for a real cuban flair. 1/2 serving is the perfect amount as a side dish. It is beautiful. I used yuca to substitute for the rutabagas for a cuban flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Very good! I added a few boiling onions and a few cloves of garlic. I've never even tasted many of these root veggies but I loved this dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was okay. I had something similar to this at someone's home a few years ago and this recipe wasn't as good, but it wasn't bad. I used all the vegetables listed but I added garlic and onion and more carrots. I started roasted them in a little olive oil, fresh rosemary, fresh parsley, salt, and pepper first for about 20 minutes. I didn't use as many of the vegetables as the recipe calls for and I halved the amount of juice and wine. I poured the juice/wine mixture over and then added the butter to the pan after. They roasted for a long time. I didn't care for the rutabagas. The sweet potatoes didn't seem right either. I served this for Christmas dinner along with scalloped potatoes and roast beef. People ate them but I don't think it was a favorite. I'll have to ask my friend what her recipe was. I might try this again with more familar vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe was great. I was nervous as I hadn't tried a majority of these vegetables. Would highly recommend and is great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The slightly tart flavor from the apple juice didn't really fit with the veggies and it could use more seasoning of some sort. Not really sure what would make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States